If you add a community post to a post on X (formerly Twitter), X will tell you if the person who wrote the post deletes it, the company announced Friday.
“Contributors consistently say their goal is to keep others well informed,” X wrote. on the Community Notes account. “This can happen when a helpful note appears on a post, but also when an erroneous post is deleted. Starting today, authors will be notified when a post they wrote a note on is deleted.
The idea here seems to be to give people the option to add Community Ratings another tool to empower other users. On the one hand, I think it could be really useful; writing about deleted messages is a key aspect of my job. But on the other hand, given the bad vibes generally present on
This new Community Notes feature is the second that X has added this week. On Tuesday, X announced that people rating see more note suggestions so they can “review other grades before submitting their grade.” X owner Elon Musk is a big advocate for community notesand the feature has seen notable updates, including image and video expansions, since he took over the company.