Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: when are the matches? What are England’s chances? | Cricket News

When are the games? What are England’s chances? Which players should you watch? Everything you need to know ahead of the 2022 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup…

When and where does the T20 Women’s World Cup take place?

The eighth edition of the tournament will be held in South Africa from February 10-26, with matches to be played in Gqeberha – formerly known as Port Elizabeth – Cape Town and Paarl. Every game is live on Sky Sports and the competition kicks off on Friday with hosts South Africa against Sri Lanka.

Friday, February 10, 4:30 p.m.

Saturday February 11 12:30 p.m.

Saturday February 11 4:30 p.m.

Which teams are affected?

Five-time champions and tournament favorites Australia join South Africa, Sri Lanka, New Zealand And Bangladesh in group A. England – champions of the inaugural edition at home in 2009 but without a trophy since – are in Group B alongside India, Pakistan, West Indies And Ireland.

How does the format work?

Teams play the other teams in their group once, with the top two advancing to the semi-finals. The winners of Group A play the runners-up in Group B and vice versa before the winners of those matches advance to the final.

Nat Sciver and Heather Knight (Getty Images)
Nat Sciver-Brunt and Heather Knight could be key to England’s chances

Who is in the England squad?

Heather Knight (captain), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Katherine Sciver-Brunt, Lauren Winfield-Hill , Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers). Traveling Reserves: Issy Wong, Danielle Gibson.

Previous winners?

The word Australia appears quite often…

2009 – Englandbeat New Zealand by six wickets
2010 – Australia, beat New Zealand by three points
2012 – Australia, beat England by four points
2014 – Australia, beat England by six wickets
2016 – West Indiesbeat Australia by eight wickets
2018 – Australia, beat England by eight wickets
2020 – Australiabeat India by 85 points

Australia Women win the T20 World Cup in 2020 (Associated Press)
Australia have won the previous two T20 World Cups and five of seven tournaments in total

How did England do last time out?

Eliminated in the semi-finals by the rain. It was a disappointing way for England to exit after rallying against South Africa in their Group B opener to slip past Thailand, Pakistan and the West Indies to clinch second place in his hen.

India were their opponents in the last four but the teams were unable to enter the pitch due to bad weather in Sydney and with no reserve day in progress for the semi-finals, India qualified at strength to have won group A. The semi-finals in the 2023 edition, there are reserve days, so I hope there will be no repetition.

Heather Knight irritated during England's rainy semi-final against India in Sydney at the 2020 T20 World Cup (Getty Images)
Knight looks on during England’s rainy semi-final against India at the 2020 T20 World Cup

How will England fare in 2023?

There is real optimism that a 14-year wait for a second T20 title can be ended. Since Jon Lewis took over as head coach at the end of 2022, England have swept the West Indies 8-0 – winning three ODIs and five T20 internationals – as they try to play with the aggressive style that has transformed the men’s test team.

With Knight back after hip surgery and Nat Sciver-Brunt back after a mental health hiatus, England are pretty much complete except for injured all-rounder Freya Kemp. Teenager Alice Capsey is out with a broken collarbone, while 37-year-old Katherine Sciver-Brunt will be looking forward to impressing in what will likely be her last major tournament.

Sophie Ecclestone (PA Images)
England spinner Sophie Ecclestone is the world’s No.1 ranked T20I bowler

Add Sophia Dunkley and Danni Wyatt to the top of the order, world No.1 ranked bowler in left-arm spinner Sophie Ecclestone and emerging seamstress Lauren Bell, and England have the players to contend with. But, as always, Australia remain the team to beat.

What other players should we look for?

Meg Lanning is back as Australia captain after taking a break from the game last year and is part of a powerful batting unit that also includes the world No.1. Tahlia McGrath and world number 2 Beth Mooney.

Please use Chrome browser for more accessible video player

Shafali Verma was emotional during the presentation after captaining India’s U19s to the World Cup title in January

The elegant Smriti Mandhana forms a formidable opening duet with Shafali Verma for India, with the latter looking to add the senior T20 World Cup title to the U19 version they captained at the end of January.

Ireland may need Gaby Lewis to display the kind of form she showed in 2022 while reaching four half-centuries and helping the team earn a first away series victory, against Pakistan in November.

Lewis’ side face tough demand to leave a group including England and India, but a former Irish player, Kim Garth, will have plans to win the title with the all-rounder now representing Australia.

Gaby Lewis, Ireland women's cricket team, T20 international (Getty Images)
Gaby Lewis is part of the Ireland squad for the T20 World Cup in South Africa

Hosts South Africa – having left out captain Dane van Niekerk for fitness reasons – will look to Laura Wolvaardt for shopping, then Nonkululeko Mlaba And Shabnim Ismail for the counters, while the spinners Alana King from Australia and India Deepti Sharma could prove a nightmare for opposition hitters.

When is the final?

The title match will take place on Sunday February 26 from 1pm in Cape Town. It would be a surprise if Australia didn’t make it, having played in all but one of the seven T20 World Cup finals so far.

Women’s T20 World Cup – full fixture list (every hour in UK and Ireland)

Group stage

February 10 – South Africa vs Sri Lanka, Cape Town (5:00 p.m.)

February 11 – West Indies vs England, Paarl (1pm)

February 11th – Australia vs New Zealand, Paarl (5pm)

12 February – India vs Pakistan, Cape Town (1 p.m.)

12 February – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, Cape Town (5:00 p.m.)

February 13 – Ireland v England, Paarl (11am)

February 13 – South Africa vs New Zealand, Paarl (5 p.m.)

February 14th – Australia vs Bangladesh, Gqeberha (5 p.m.)

February 15 – West Indies vs India, Cape Town (1 p.m.)

February 15 – Pakistan vs Ireland, Cape Town (5:00 p.m.)

February 16 – Sri Lanka v Australia, Gqeberha (1pm)

February 17 – New Zealand vs Bangladesh, Cape Town (1pm)

February 17 – West Indies vs Ireland, Cape Town (5 p.m.)

February 18 – England v India, Gqeberha (1pm)

February 18 – South Africa vs Australia, Gqeberha (5 p.m.)

February 19 – Pakistan v West Indies, Paarl (1pm)

February 19 – New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Paarl (5pm)

February 20 – Ireland v India, Gqeberha (1pm)

the 21st of February – England v Pakistan, Cape Town (1pm)

the 21st of February – South Africa vs Bangladesh, Cape Town (5:00 p.m.)

Knockout stage

February 23 – First semi-final, Cape Town (1 p.m.)

February 24 – Second semi-final, Cape Town (1 p.m.)

February 26 – Final, Cape Town (1 p.m.)

The semi-finals and the final have reserve days

Sky Sports

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button