Skip to content

The winner of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway was apparently supposed to take the checkered flag.

Kyle Busch won the Buschy McBusch Race 400 on his 36th birthday. He delayed Kevin Harvick by 0.336 seconds after a series of late-race restarts.

Busch won for the first time this season and for the 58th time in his Cup career.

He swept the weekend races in Kansas, adding the Cup victory to his Truck Series victory on Saturday night.

More information on Busch’s victory on Sunday can be found below, as well as the full race results.

MORE: Watch NASCAR Races Live with fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Kyle Busch entered the winning column in 2021, the 17th consecutive year he has won in the Cup series. He is tied with David Pearson for the second most consecutive years with a victory and just a year behind all-time leader Richard Petty.

Busch led the field to the green for a two-lap shootout until the finish after the last warning of the day. Harvick challenged on the White Flag lap but ran out of time to pass it.

Busch has won only once in 2020 (fall race in Texas) after recording five wins in 2019 en route to his second Cup Series championship.

“It’s tough sometimes when you go through lulls, you go through disappointment, you go through discouragement and lack of understanding if you can still do it,” Busch said. “There is a sense of doubt there, for sure. But you just have to keep persevering, keep digging and focusing.”

Busch won Stage 1 and finished second behind Kyle Larson in Stage 2. Larson led the most laps of the race (132 of 267) but finished 19th after a collision with Ryan Blaney on the restart final put his car in the outside wall.

Kansas NASCAR Results

Busch qualified for the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs two races before the midpoint of the 26-race regular season. The field of the round of 16 fills up quickly as 10 drivers in 11 races have won. Busch’s teammate Martin Truex Jr. is the sole winner of multiple races.

Harvick, Brad Keselowski, Matt DiBenedetto and Chase Elliott completed the top five on Sunday.

The next Cup Series race will take place at one of NASCAR’s second oldest tracks, Darlington (SC) Raceway. The Goodyear 400 is scheduled for Sunday, May 9 (3:30 p.m. ET, FS1, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM Radio). The race will be part of NASCAR’s Throwback Weekend as the organization honors its past with, among other things, recreations of famous paint schemes.

Finish Driver
1 Kyle busch
2 Kevin harvick
3 Brad Keselowski
4 Matt DiBenedetto
5 Chase Elliott
6 Martin Truex Jr.
7 Tyler reddick
8 Chris Buescher
9 William byron
ten Austin dillon
11 Daniel Suarez
12 Denny hamlin
13 Michael mcdowell
14 Ross chastain
15 Kurt busch
16 Ryan newman
17 Joey logano
18 Alex Bowman
19 Kyle larson
20 Chase Briscoe
21 Ryan blaney
22 Austin Cindric
23 Anthony Alfredo
24 Cole custer
25 Erik Jones
26 Bubba wallace
27 Corey LaJoie
28 Christopher bell
29 Aric almirola
30 Justin haley
31 BJ McLeod
32 Ryan preece
33 Garrett smithley
34 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
35 Joey Gase
36 Cody ware
37 Quin Houff
38 Matt mills
39 Josh bilicki

Source link