Which players have won the most Ballon D’Or titles? Lionel Messi ‘ready to win an eighth crown’

Julian Finney/Getty Images

Lionel Messi is tipped to win the Ballon D’or for the eighth time, with some reporting that the Argentine has already been informed of his victory.

The prize for the best player in the world will be awarded in Paris on October 30 and Messi might want to take his suit to the dry cleaners, the Mirror reported on Tuesday.

Another victory would be the striker’s eighth and his first while playing for American team Inter Miami. It would also make Messi the first to win playing for a team outside Europe, having signed for his team over the summer.

This award is organized by France Football and was traditionally given to the best players in Europe, but has since been extended worldwide.


Karim Benzema after winning the Ballon d’Or

Benoît Tessier / Reuters

How did you win the most Ballon D’Or titles?

The trophy has been awarded since 1956 to most of the greats – but only 10 of them have won more than one gong. In the event of a tie, second and third places are taken into account.

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: Two titles (1980, 1981)

The German World Cup winner was a powerful striker for Bayern Munich and then Inter Milan in the 1980s.

Kevin Keegan: Two titles (1978, 1979)

England’s only multiple winner won his two Ballon d’Or titles while playing club football in Germany with Hamburger SV.

Alfredo Di Stéfano: Two titles (1957, 1959)

The legendary Real Madrid striker was also just behind Stanley Matthews in the very first competition in 1956.

Inter Miami Celebrities Watch Lionel Messi


Ronaldo: Two titles (1997, 2002)

The Brazilian number nine was unstoppable at his best and capped off an impressive career to win his second title six years after his first.

Franz Beckenbauer: Two titles (1972, 1976)

The West German defender has the distinction of becoming the first to win the World Cup both as a player and a coach.

Marco van Basten: Three titles (1988, 1989, 1992)

The Dutch striker could have won more titles without a career cut short due to injuries. In 1988, he was one of three Milan-based Dutch players to occupy the top positions in the Ballon D’Or.


Cristiano Ronaldo: five-time winner

AFP via Getty Images

Johan Cruyff: Three titles (1971, 1973, 1974)

The influential winger was a hero for Ajax and Barcelona at level of play before later managing both teams.

Michel Platini: Three titles (1983, 1984, 1985)

Platini was a legend for Juventus and France in the 1980s, but he retired at the peak of his career in 1987.

Cristiano Ronaldo: Five titles (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

The Portuguese striker still plays in Saudi Arabia, having become the most successful player of all time at international level.

Lionel Messi: Seven titles (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021)

Even if he doesn’t win this month, Messi already has a record seven Ballons d’Or, but looks set to slip further away.

standard Sport

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button