World News

When, where and what are the format and schedule?

The 44th Ryder Cup will be hosted by Italy, for the first time in its history.

The venue is the Marco Simone Golf and Country Club, just outside Rome, which has previously hosted the Italian Open. For a more detailed look at its 18 holes, we’ve compiled a hole-by-hole guide to the course.

Among the Italian players who will represent Europe with distinction are Costantino Rocca and the Molinari brothers, Francesco and Eduardo.

Seven of the last eight meetings have been won by the home team, with the exception of the ‘Miracle in Medina’ in 2012, where Europe came back from 10-4 down to claim a remarkable victory.

Nine members of the American team recently took a scouting trip with Marco Simone to try for their first victory on European soil since 1993, but many members of the European team played the Italian Open on place over the last three years, with Robert MacIntyre. (2022) and Nicolai Hojgaard (2021) winning the title.

How can I watch on TV?

NBC is the American broadcaster, where viewers will either have to stay up late or get up very early to catch the morning sessions on Friday and Saturday. When the Ryder Cup was held in France five years ago, play began at 2:10 a.m. Eastern Time, with afternoon sessions beginning at 7:50 a.m. Eastern Time. more civilized.

No such worries for viewers in the UK, where there will be exclusive live TV coverage on Sky Sports. In 2018, the first matches started at 7:10am BST. Click here for more details on how to watch the Ryder Cup.

What is the Ryder Cup?

One of the most watched sporting events in the world, the Ryder Cup is distinguished by the insertion of competitors from an individual sport into a team environment. Besides the golf, the team dynamics and relationships made the show captivating.

Amateur golfer and businessman Samuel Ryder conceived the idea of ​​a match between British and American professionals, with the first Ryder Cup played in Massachusetts in 1927.

The match was played between an American and British or British and Irish team until 1977.

After nine United States victories and one draw in 10 matches, Jack Nicklaus wrote a letter to Lord Derby (then president of the British PGA) suggesting that Great Britain and Ireland merge with continental Europe to make the more competitive Ryder Cup.

Ryder Cups became much tighter and more dramatic in the mid-1980s, and the extravaganza we know today was born.

Who are the Ryder Cup captains?

Europe will be led by Luke Donald, who replaced Henrik Stenson last year after the Swede was stripped of the title due to his defection to LIV Golf. The United States captain is 2007 Masters champion Zach Johnson.

Who is on the teams?

Team Europe

Six players qualified automatically – the first three players on the European points list and the next three players on the global points list. The qualification period ended on September 3.

The six main European players are (from the list of European points) Rory McIlroy, Jon Rahm, Robert MacIntyre and (from the list of world points) Viktor Hovland, Tyrrell Hatton And Matt Fitzpatrick.

For his six jokers, Luke Donald chose Justin Rose, Tommy Fleetwood, Sepp Straka, Shane Lowry, Nicolai Hojgaard And Ludvig Aberg.

European golfers participating in the LIV Golf Tour have been not allowed to qualify for the Ryder Cup. This is because European players in the Ryder Cup must be members of the DP World Tour (formerly known as the European Tour) and players who registered for the LIV were forced to give up their place on the DP World Tour.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button