When are the 2022 ESPYS? How to Watch the Awards Live, Host Steph Curry’s Comedic Inspiration, Top Nominees

LOS ANGELES — The 30th Annual ESPYS is back at full capacity for the first time in three years, moving from downtown Los Angeles to home of the Oscars. The show went virtual in 2020 and held a scaled-down version last year in New York due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Here’s everything you need to know about this year’s awards show:

How to watch

The ESPY Awards airs live Wednesday, July 20 at 8 p.m. EDT / 5 p.m. PDT on ABC. Stream the next day on Hulu.

Steph Curry steps out of his comfort zone as a host

After leading the Golden State Warriors to an NBA championship, Stephen Curry welcomes The ESPYS.

The Finals MVP hints that his fellow athletes attending the show in Hollywood might want to be a little worried about what he will say during the opening monologue.

Curry says hosting is out of his comfort zone and he expects to be on an emotional roller coaster for the ABC live broadcast.

“Maybe not as nervous as if Draymond were the host, but still nervous,” Curry told The Associated Press, referring to his ever-chatty Golden State Warriors teammate Draymond Green. “Now I have the mic.”

“I’m already more nervous just thinking about this atmosphere,” he added. “Basketball is reactionary and I spend every waking hour thinking about it, practicing and preparing for it. I’ll do the same preparation for it, but it’s going to be an emotional roller coaster.”

Curry is also nominated for three individual trophies and the Warriors are vying for the best team.

Curry describes his sense of humor as “everywhere”. He lists comedians Dave Chapelle and Kevin Hart, as well as the Emmy-winning series “Schitt’s Creek,” among his favorites.

“I will try to channel them all,” he said.


Making his fourth appearance in the Top Athlete, Men’s Sports category, Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers) faces stiff competition between 2015 winner and this year’s host Curry (Golden State Warriors), 2021 contender Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers) and first challenger Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels).

Top returning athlete nominees Candace Parker (Chicago Sky) and Katie Ledecky (swimming) join newcomers Sunisa Lee (gymnastics) and Oksana Masters (cross-country skiing, road cycling, biathlon). Parker is the only contender for a second victory, having claimed the honor in 2008.

The full list of 2022 nominees can be viewed here.


Arthur Ashe Prize for Courage

ESPN previously reported that former heavyweight boxing champion and mayor of Kyiv Vitali Klitschko will receive the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage.

Mayor of the Ukrainian capital since 2014, the former heavyweight champion has been a longtime vocal critic of Vladimir Putin since the conflict with Russia in 2013. Since Russia invaded Ukraine in late February, Vitali, with his younger brother and Hall of Famer Wladimir was one of the faces of the resistance.

“It’s a great honor for me to receive this award,” said Klitschko, 50. “I am convinced that this is a recognition of the courage and inviolability of the Ukrainian people, who have courageously resisted the Russian aggressor for more than 3 years. This is an award for all those who defend the independence and freedom of Ukraine.

Jimmy V Award for Perseverance

Broadcaster, Hall of Famer and college basketball icon Dick Vitale will receive the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance, which helps raise awareness and fund cancer research.

Vitale, 82, announced in August that he had undergone several surgeries to remove melanoma. In October, he announced that he had been diagnosed with lymphoma. His chemotherapy treatment for lymphoma forced the veteran broadcaster to step down from ESPN’s college basketball coverage.

Vitale has documented his cancer journey on social media and appeared at the SEC Tournament in March, where he was recognized for his contributions to sports, the league and his fight against cancer. He announced in April that he was cancer free.

Pat Tillman Award for Service

Author, athlete, and retired Army Command Sgt. Major Gretchen Evans will receive the Pat Tillman Service Award.

“Evans is a highly decorated veteran. After suffering a life-changing injury while serving in the military, Evans founded Team UNBROKEN, an adaptive running team comprised primarily of veterans who suffered life-altering injuries, illnesses or trauma to compete in World’s Toughest Race: Eco-Challenge Fiji… The formation of the team grew out of Evans’ involvement with a number of human rights advocacy groups. veterans where she mentored and coached other veterans with stories that echo her own extraordinary journey,” according to ESPN.

Presenters and attendees

Stars and athletes slated to feature this year include: Odell Beckham Jr. (Super Bowl Champion), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Maybelle Blair (Former All-American Girls Pro Baseball League Player), John Boyega ( Golden Globe Award Winning, actor and producer), Alison Brie (“Spin Me Round”), Ciara (Grammy Award-winning singer/songwriter), Dany Garcia (XFL owner and president), Ryan Garcia (boxing), Heidi Gardner (“Saturday Night Live”), Jon Hamm (“Top Gun: Maverick”), Lil Rel Howery (Free Guy), Lil Wayne (Grammy Award-winning rapper), Billie Jean King (Tennis Legend), Derek Jeter (Former MLB All-Star), Dwayne Johnson (“XFL Owner Black Adam”), Travis Kelce (Kansas City Chiefs), Simu Liu (“Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings”), Aubrey Plaza (” Criminal Emily”), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Trevante Rhodes (Hulu’s “Mike”), Aaron Rodgers (NFL MVP), Lindsey Vonn (Ski), Hannah Waddingham (“Ted Lasso”), Russell Wi lson (Denver Broncos) and more. UCLA student-athletes Maya Brady (softball) and Kam Brown (football) will serve as trophy presenters.

Additionally, top athletes and celebrities scheduled to attend include: Jocelyn Alo (Oklahoma Softball), Liz Cambage (Los Angeles Sparks), Maksim Chmerkovskiy (“Dancing with the Stars”), Skylar Diggins-Smith (Phoenix Mercury), Aaron Donald (Los Angeles Rams), Doug Edert (St. Peter Men’s Basketball), Allyson Felix (Athletics), Draymond Green (Golden State Warriors), Eileen Gu (Skiing), Madison Hammond (Angel City FC), Tobin Heath ( OL Reign), Tyler Herro (Miami Heat), Katie Ledecky (Swimming), Chloe Kim (Snowboarding), Cooper Kupp (Los Angeles Rams), Matthew Stafford (Los Angeles Rams), Bryce Young (Alabama Football) and more.


The Associated Press and ESPN contributed to this report.


The Walt Disney Company is the parent company of ESPN and this ABC station.

Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button