WhatsApp is reportedly rolling out a new update for Android smartphones that offers the ability to create communities. The feature is supposed to be available to a limited number of beta testers at this time. The Meta-owned communications platform has already been spotted working on a communities tab. This upcoming feature should allow WhatsApp users to create “communities” of up to 10 subgroups with up to 512 participants in each subgroup.
According to a report by WhatsApp feature tracker WABetaInfo, WhatsApp for Android beta 220.127.116.11 offers the ability to create a community. This feature is currently available to a limited number of beta testers, according to the report.
This update would replace the camera tab in the top left corner of the app with the communities tab. This tab is supposed to allow users to create a community with up to 10 subgroups, depending on the feature tracker, while one subgroup is supposed to be able to support up to 512 participants.
The report further mentions that community members can select a subgroup of their choice when joining a new community. They would also be allowed to leave subgroups without leaving the community. Community administrators are supposed to have the ability to deactivate a community. This update would also allow members to report a community to WhatsApp.
WhatsApp would automatically create an announcement group when a user creates a new community. This group can supposedly be used by community admins to share posts that are always visible to all community members.
WhatsApp for Android Beta 18.104.22.168 is also said to support the Communities feature. However, users would be able to join communities if the feature is enabled for their accounts. Even after installing compatible updates, users may not be able to join communities even after being added by a community administrator, according to WABetaInfo.
According to a recent report, WhatsApp is also working on a feature that would allow users to hide their phone numbers from specific WhatsApp subgroups within a community, via a setting that should be available once the feature rolls out to all users. .