Washington sanctions Russian central bank chief — RT Business News

The updated blacklist also includes dozens of wives and children of state officials

The US administration announced new economic sanctions against hundreds of Russian officials, their family members and entities of the country, in response to the accession of former Ukrainian regions to Russia.

The updated list of people released on Friday includes Bank of Russia Governor Elvira Nabiullina and Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Novak, as well as family members of senior government officials such as former Russian President Dmitry Medvedev , Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu, Moscow Mayor Sergei Sobyanin. and Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin.

Among the backlisted are 109 members of the Russian State Duma and 169 members of the Federation Council.

In addition, visa restrictions will be imposed on members of the Russian military, Belarusian military officials and proxies operating on behalf of the Kremlin. The Commerce Department also added 57 entities to its export control list.

The extension of what were previously described as unprecedented sanctions comes as Russian President Vladimir Putin approved the inclusion of the people’s republics of Donetsk and Luhansk, as well as Kherson and Zaporozhye regions, into Russia.

For more stories on economics and finance, visit RT’s business section

You can share this story on social media:


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button