Skip to content
US excludes Cuba, Venezuela and Nicaragua from summit

JThe Biden administration has taken a final decision against inviting the governments of Cuba, Venezuela and Nicaragua to a regional summit this week, thwarting calls by the Mexican president to include all countries or risk him staying home .

The United States made the call after weeks of discussions with governments in Latin America and the Caribbean, including that of Mexico, according to people familiar with the deliberations, who asked not to be identified because they are not authorized to speak publicly on the matter. The United States has nongovernmental representatives from all three countries registered to participate in stakeholder forums, the people said.

Read more: China’s efforts to become Latin America’s most important ally

The White House press office declined to comment.

The US choice is based on concerns about the lack of democracy and respect for human rights in the three countries, the people said.

Mexican President Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador has said for weeks that he would skip the Summit of the Americas in Los Angeles unless representatives of authoritarian governments are invited. The United States refused, citing its anti-democratic record, but continued to discuss the issue with Mexico. In turn, the leaders of other nations, including Guatemala and Honduras, have said they may also skip the summit.

More Must-Have Stories from TIME

contact us at


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.