Skip to content
Unlocked: Top Athletes Join Women’s Sport Trust Campaign for More Diversity |  News News

Women’s Sport Trust Launches Initiative to Increase Diversity in Sport; footballers Caroline Weir and Nikita Parris and five-time Paralympic champion Hannah Cockroft among 35 elite athletes to enter; Last year’s program saw four participants take on roles in sports councils

Last updated: 07/04/21 10:12 am

England international footballer Nikita Parris is one of 35 sportswomen who have joined the ‘Unlocked’ initiative

Elite competitors from 27 sports have joined a charity initiative to improve diversity in sports after the pandemic.

The ‘Unlocked’ program was put together by the Women’s Sport Trust and will feature athletes such as footballers Caroline Weir and Nikita Parris and five-time Paralympic champion Hannah Cockroft.

As part of the Unlocked group, athletes will have access to experts in sports, business and media, and the Women’s Sport Trust will host workshops and provide opportunities to hear from industry insiders, as well as ” assign athletes their own “ activator ”.

Last year’s Unlocked program proved to be significant, with four of the squad in positions on sports boards, including swimmer Lizzie Simmonds, the two-time Olympian who was recently selected as the new chair of the Athletes’ Commission of the British Olympic Association, and British Paralympian Vanessa Wallace, who joined Sporting Equals as a trustee.

Tammy Parlor MBE, CEO and Co-Founder of the Women’s Sport Trust, said: “It has been a difficult year for many, but with the release of Covid-19, there is no better time to energize our efforts and continue to unleash the value of women’s sport.

“We believe the best way to do this is to support these elite women and connect them together. Individually, they are strong advocates for change, but together they are unstoppable.

Group 2021 released: Ali Collins (tennis), Alice Masterman (sailing), Amber Keegan (swimming), Beth Partridge (athletics), Caroline Weir (football), Emma Wiggs (para-canoe), Emily Appleton (tennis), Emily Currie (surf), Francesca Jones (tennis), Hannah Burke (golf), Hannah Cockroft (wheelchair racing), Jenna Downing (skating), Jodie Cunningham (rugby league), Jodie Ounsley (rugby union), Jodie Williams (athletics), Kadeen Corbin (netball), Lauren Rowles (para-rowing), Lucy Shuker (wheelchair tennis), Melissa Wilson (rowing), Mhairi Maclennan (athletics), Montell Douglas (bobsleigh), Nabila Tejpar (motorsport), Nikita Parris ( football), Panashe Muzambe (rugby) union), Phoebe Graham (cricket), Robyn Love (wheelchair basketball), Ruth Mwandumba (shooting), Samantha Kinghorn (wheelchair racing), Sarah Evans (hockey), Sarah Jones ( hockey), Shaunagh Brown (rugby union), Shelayna Oskan -Clarke (athletics), Stacey Francis (netball), Stef Twell (athletics), Yoana Yankova (gymnastic).


Source link