Trevoh Chalobah questions decision not to fire Naby Keita as Liverpool beat Chelsea in Carabao Cup final

The Liverpool midfielder collided with the 22-year-old in the 58th minute and appeared to accidentally sink his studs into Chalobah’s inner thigh.

Keita was shown a yellow card and VAR intervention did not increase his punishment, which Sky Sports pundit Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink said was “surprised”.

Ultimately, the game would go to a penalty shootout after an entertaining game in which Romelu Lukaku and Joel Matip had goals scored and Kepa Arrizabalaga, brought in before the shootout, missed the decisive kick to award Liverpool their ninth Ligue’s cup.

Chalobah scored his penalty and took to social media after the game to ask why Keita hadn’t been sent off for the horrific challenge.

“I had to have stitches because of it,” he wrote.

“The referee is there, I don’t understand? »


standard Sport

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button