The Tony Awards will return to the usual date and location

NEW YORK (AP) — In another sign that show business is returning to its pre-pandemic pace, the Tony Awards will take place again in June and at a familiar venue, Radio City Music Hall.

The Broadway League and American Theater Wing announced Wednesday that the awards will be presented on June 12 and air on CBS, but instead of a three-hour presentation, producers are adding an extra hour before the broadcast that will only air on Paramount+. The broadcast will be live across the country, starting at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT), and the main event will be live at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT).

There was no word on a host.

The ceremony will take place nine months after “Moulin Rouge! The Musical” took home the best new musical crown at the latest Tony Awards, one postponed because of the pandemic. That show also went from its usual three hours to four hours, with host Audra McDonald handing out Tonys for the first two hours. and Leslie Odom Jr. hosting a “Broadway’s Back!” celebration for the second half with performances from all three top musicals.

The Tony Awards eligibility deadline for the 2021-2022 season is April 28 for all Broadway productions that meet all other eligibility requirements. Nominations for the 2022 Tony Awards will be announced on May 3.




huffpost

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button