The Scottish Women’s Premier League will expand to 12 teams from next season | Soccer News

The Scottish Women’s Premier League will feature 12 top-flight teams from next season following confirmation of the league’s new two-tier competition format.

There will be no relegation from SWPL1 this term, with two clubs coming from SWPL2.

The second tier will grow to eight teams, with the winners of the Northern Championship and the Southern Championship, as well as a winner of the play-offs.

SWPL1 will consist of 12 teams with a split after 22 games

The move coincides with the SWPL moving under the governance of the Scottish Professional Football League.

The 12-team elite will feature a split after two rounds of matches, with the top and bottom six playing each other twice more.

There will be promotion and relegation between the top two divisions and a path will continue for clubs to come out of Championship level.

Fiona McIntyre, Acting Chief Executive of the SWPL, said: “It’s a really exciting time for the elite women’s game, and it’s great to confirm our new competition format.

“I have worked closely with the SWPL clubs to agree the best way forward for SWPL1 and SWPL2 and I strongly believe the new league setup will further elevate the game in Scotland.”

Rangers currently lead the Scottish Women's Premier League
Rangers are currently top of the Scottish Women’s Premier League

Neil Doncaster, SPFL Chief Executive, added: “Women’s football has seen incredible growth in recent years, and I’m confident this new structure will play its part in taking the game to the next level.

“Everyone at the SPFL is proud of the work that has been done in this new setup and we look forward to continuing to support clubs to raise the profile and competitiveness of the game in Scotland.”

Sky Sports

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button