The Oscars Governors Awards 2022 will honor Michael J. Fox, Euzhan Palcy, Diane Warren, Peter Weir

LOS ANGELES — Diane Warren will finally be able to thank the Academy in November.

The oft-nominated songwriter was selected to receive an honorary Oscar at the annual Governors Awards alongside directors Peter Weir and Euzhan Palcy. Actor Michael J. Fox will also receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Tuesday. None have won an Oscar before.

“The Academy’s Board of Governors is honored to recognize four individuals who have made indelible contributions to film and the world at large,” David Rubin, president of the film academy, said in a statement.

The honorary Oscar statuette is awarded for “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, outstanding contributions to the state of the motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the academy”.

Warren, 65, is the class’s newest Oscar nominee, having been nominated for the original song award earlier this year. The prolific songwriter who has contributed original songs to over 100 films has been nominated in the category 13 times since 1987 for songs such as ‘Because You Loved Me’, ‘How Do I Live’ and ‘I Don’ t Want To Miss A Thing”. .” She has worked with artists like Lady Gaga, Beyoncé, Cher, Celine Dion and Whitney Houston.

Rubin said, “Warren’s music and lyrics have amplified the emotional impact of countless films and inspired generations of musical artists.”

At 77, Australian author Weir also received numerous nominations during the year for directing ‘Witness’, ‘Dead Poets Society’, ‘The Truman Show’ and ‘Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World,” which also earned a Best Picture nomination and penned “Green Card.” A leading voice in Australia’s new wave, Weir first made a name for himself with ‘Picnic at Hanging Rock’, ‘The Last Wave’ and ‘Gallipoli’.

“Weir is a director of consummate artistic skill and talent whose work reminds us of the power of film to reveal the full range of human experience,” said Rubin.

And while perhaps less well-known than others in this class of Governors Awards, Palcy, 64, has been a trailblazer for decades as a black director. Born in Martinique in the French Antilles, Palcy broke new ground with her first feature film “Sugar Cane Alley”, which won the Silver Lion at the Venice Film Festival in 1983 and a César. She also became the first black woman to direct a film for a major Hollywood studio with MGM’s “A Dry White Season” in 1989, for which Marlon Brando earned an Oscar nomination.

Rubin said it, “a groundbreaking significance in international cinema is cemented in the history of cinema.”

Fox, meanwhile, will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for his advocacy work in Parkinson’s disease research. The 61-year-old ‘Back to the Future’ and ‘Family Ties’ star was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease at the age of 29. His organization, the Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Disease Research, founded in 2000, is a leader in the field. Although he’s never been nominated for an Oscar before, Fox has won five Emmys, a Grammy and two Screen Actors Guild awards.

“Michael J. Fox’s tireless advocacy for Parkinson’s disease research, along with his boundless optimism, exemplifies the impact of one person in changing the future of millions of people,” said Rubin. .

The 13th Annual Governors Awards will take place in Los Angeles on Nov. 19 in an untelevised ceremony.

Copyright © 2022 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button