The G7 summit focused on the “double containment” of Russia and China, according to Lavrov

Moscow, May 20. The decisions approved at the G7 summit in the Japanese city of Hiroshima are focused on the “double containment” of Russia and China, declared today Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, noting that the process of creating a multilateral world is has accelerated.

“The solutions discussed and approved today at the G7 summit in Hiroshima are focused on the double containment of Russia and China,” he said during his speech at the XXXI Assembly of the Council for Foreign Policy and Defense held in Russia, broadcast on state television. Russian.

Lavrov stressed that the approach of rapprochement with Europe that prevailed in Russian foreign policy until recently “has been completely exhausted” and Russia has entered “a phase of intense confrontation with the aggressive bloc made up of the United States, the European Union and NATO”. .

“They openly declare their goal: to defeat Russia on the battlefield, and not stop until they destroy it as a geopolitical competitor, just like any other country that claims to occupy an independent position worldwide, which will also be suppressed as a competitor,” he denounced. .

The head of Russian diplomacy pointed out that the United States “used the Ukrainian crisis to consolidate the Western bloc (…) but this consolidation rather resembles a total subordination of the rest (Western countries) to its will.”

“Despite the fact that this consolidation took place, a fissure in turn emerged between the West and the global majority, the countries of the South and the global East,” he asserted.

This, according to Lavrov, “accelerates the transition to the system of multipolar international relations.”

Lavrov admitted that during this process “there may be some pauses (…) but we have entered the era of the transition to multipolarity and the refusal to obey the hegemonic power… In this fight we have many allies.”

He highlighted Russia’s high level of relations with China, India, the countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, the Persian Gulf states, Iran, Turkey, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the post-Soviet countries of the Commonwealth. of Independent States. EFE



infobae Sp

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button