Skip to content
Steve Smith Excluded From Australian Tours To West Indies And Bangladesh Due To Elbow Injury |  Cricket News

David Warner and Pat Cummins are among six other players who have declared themselves unavailable for white ball tours; Uncapped fast pitcher Wes Agar, spinner’s younger brother Ashton Agar, was included in an 18-man squad

Last update: 06/16/21 2:54 PM

Former Australian captain Steve Smith has been banned from tours for medical reasons

Australia will send an understaffed team to the Caribbean for the White Balls tour against the West Indies, with Pat Cummins, David Warner and Glenn Maxwell retiring, and Steve Smith injured.

Cricket Australia said rhythm trio Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson and Daniel Sams, as well as versatile Marcus Stoinis, have also withdrawn from the tour for “various reasons”.

Coach Trevor Hohns explained that although they were disappointed that they did not have all of their players available, the national selection panel respected the decisions of those who had withdrawn from the tour.

“International touring during the COVID-19 era undoubtedly presents many additional challenges for athletes,” Hohns added.

Smith was nursing an elbow injury and was “disappointed” to miss the tour, Hohns said of the former captain.

Coaches telegraphed the changes last week adding six players to Australia’s white ball squads amid reports some would skip the West Indies and follow the tour to Bangladesh due to ‘bubble fatigue’.

Australia are expected to play five Twenty20 matches and three one-day internationals in the West Indies next month and five Twenty20 matches in Bangladesh in August, subject to biosafety deals and government approvals.

Warner, Cummins and Smith were among the Australian players who took part in the Indian Premier League, which was suspended last month after a number of players and team staff contracted COVID-19 despite the Strict tournament biosecurity protocols.

Uncapped quick pitcher Wes Agar, the younger brother of established spinner Ashton Agar, was included in the 18-man squad along with Ben McDermott, Dan Christian and Ashton Turner.

Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Swepson return to the squad under Aaron Finch after missing the New Zealand tour earlier this year due to a selection clash with the test squad.

Team: Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye , Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.


Source link