Skip to content
State of origin: Billy Slater to lead Queensland against New South Wales in Sydney |  Rugby League News

State of Origin’s first game kicks off at 11.10am (BST) on Wednesday 8 June and will be played at Sydney’s Accor Stadium; watch the action live on Sky Sports Arena & Main Event from 10am

Last update: 08/06/22 06:20

Maroons manager Billy Slater has named four debutants to his squad for State of Origin Game 1 against NSW

Billy Slater is yet to coach a senior game of football but will take charge of Queensland in the State of Origin 1 game against New South Wales on Wednesday.

New Queensland coach Slater has named four debutants to his squad, including teenager Selwyn Cobbo.

The Brisbane winger, who has scored 10 tries in his last six NRL games, won a hotly contested race for a place in the Maroons back line ahead of team-mate Corey Oates and North Queensland pair Hamiso Tabuai -Fidow and Murray Taulagi.

home state rugby league live

June 8, 2022, 10:00 a.m.

Live of

In addition to 19-year-old Cobbo, Cowboy Reuben Cotter will make his first Origin appearance at the lock, while Pat Carrigan and Jeremiah Nanai are both set to debut for their state from the trade bench.

New South Wales manager Brad Fittler has issued a stark plea to drop Josh Addo-Carr and hand Daniel Tupou a recall as part of a plan to counter the looming air threat from Queensland.

Stephen Crichton and Kotoni Staggs are both set to make their debuts at centres, while Parramatta backrower Ryan Matterson and Cronulla star Nicho Hynes are also looming as debutants off the bench.

Tyson Frizell and Reagan Campbell-Gillard both picked up their Blues jerseys, with Tariq Sims also retained alongside Cameron Murray in the back row.

New South Wales : 1. James Tedesco, 2. Brian To’o, 3. Kotoni Staggs, 4. Jack Wighton, 5. Daniel Tupou, 6. Jarome Luai, 7. Nathan Cleary, 8. Payne Haas, 9. Damien Cook, 10. Junior Paolo, 11 years old. Cameron Murray, 12 years old. Tariq Sims, 13 years old. Isaac Yeo.

Exchange: 14. Stephen Crichton, 15. Liam Martin, 16. Reagan Campbell-Gillard, 17. Ryan Matterson, (18. Nicho Hynes).

Extended squad: Joseph Suaalii, Daniel Saifiti, Api Koroisau, Tyson Frizell.

Queensland: 1. Kalyn Ponga, 2. Selwyn Cobbo, 3. Valentine Holmes, 4. Dane Gagai, 5. Xavier Coates, 6. Cameron Munster, 7. Daly Cherry-Evans, 8. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui, 9. Ben Hunt, 10 Josh Papalii, 11. Kurt Capewell, 12. Felise Kaufusi, 13. Reuben Cotter.

Exchange: 14. Harry Grant, 15. Lindsay Collins, 16. Patrick Carrigan, 17. Jeremiah Nanai, (18. Tom Dearden).

Extended squad: Murray Taulagi, Jai Arrow, Tom Flegler, Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow.

Sky Sports

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.