Skip to content
SFWA Director of the Year: Steven Gerrard, Steve Clarke, Callum Davidson and David Martindale named |  Football News

Steven Gerrard, Steve Clarke, Callum Davidson and David Martindale have all been nominated for the Scottish Football Writers’ Association’s Director of the Year award.

Gerrard is included after leading Rangers to their first Scottish Premiership title since 2011, ending Celtic’s ten-year dominance in the Scottish Premier League in the process.

The Rangers could end the league season unbeaten, however, if they avoid defeat to Livingston on Wednesday 12 May and Aberdeen on Saturday 15 May, live on Sky Sports, in their last two matches.

SPFL live

Saturday May 15 12:00 p.m.

Scotland reaching a first major tournament since 1998 with a qualification for this summer’s European Championships sees Clarke, a former two-time SFWA winner with Kilmarnock, included on the roster.

A group consisting of England, Croatia and the Czech Republic is Scotland’s reward for overtaking Serbia in the Euro 2020 play-offs last November.

St Johnstone boss Davidson guided the Perthshire club to their first Scottish League Cup title with a 1-0 win over Livingston in late February.

Finally, Martindale enjoyed a successful first season as manager of Livingston, finishing second alongside Davidson in the aforementioned final, while keeping Livi in ​​the top six.

Past laureates

2000/01: Martin O’Neill (Celtic)
2001/02: Martin O’Neill (Celtic)
2002/03: Alex McLeish (Rangers)
2003/04: Martin O’Neill (Celtic)
2004/05: Tony Mowbray (Hibernian)
2005/06: Gordon Strachan (Celtic)
2006/07: Gordon Strachan (Celtic)
2007/08: Walter Smith (Rangers)
2008/09: Csaba Laszlo (Hearts)
2009/10: Walter Smith (Rangers)
2010/11: Mixu Paatelainen (Kilmarnock)
2011/12: Neil Lennon (Celtic)
2012/13: Neil Lennon (Celtic)
2013/14: Derek McInnes (Aberdeen)
2014/15: John Hughes (Caledonian thistle from Inverness)
2015/16: Jim McIntyre (Ross County)
2016/17: Brendan Rodgers (Celtic)
2017/18: Steve Clarke (Kilmarnock)
2018/19: Steve Clarke (Kilmarnock)
2019/20: Neil Lennon (Celtic)

Doig, Ferguson, Patterson and Turnbull for SFWA Young Player of the Year

Josh Doig, Lewis Ferguson, Nathan Patterson and David Turnbull have been nominated for the Scottish Football Writers Double Tree by Hilton Young Player of the Year Award.

The Aberdeen Ferguson midfielder, who won the award in 2020, could only become the third player to be named Scotland’s best youngster in the following years.

Turnbull, who won the award in 2019 at Motherwell, enjoyed an impressive first season with Celtic while left-back Hibernian Doig’s performances caught the attention of Arsenal, Celtic and Chelsea.

Fellow defender Patterson made 14 appearances for Rangers as they ended their 10-year wait for a Premiership title. Danny Wilson was the last Rangers player to win this award in 2010.

Boyd and Walker name their Team of the Year

As another dramatic Scottish Premiership season draws to a close, Kris Boyd and Andy Walker have chosen their squads of the season.

Rangers’ dominating title win saw Boyd pick nine players on Gerrard’s side, but there was no room for Alfredo Morelos in either XI.

The pair clashed over Walker’s inclusion of three Celtic players in his Team of the Year and they were also split over the selection of Kevin Nisbet and Martin Boyle from Hibernian.

Source link