Several northern Alabama classrooms have been added to the Alabama First Class Pre-K program

ALABAMA (WHNT) — 96 new classrooms in 35 counties will join Alabama’s First Class Pre-K program in the fall.

Gov. Kay Ivey made the announcement Tuesday, saying the new classrooms will bring the state’s total to 26,658 children enrolled in more than 1,481 Alabama classrooms, bringing the state one step closer to goal of serving 70% of eligible children statewide.

“We are excited to serve an additional 1,728 students in our First Class Pre-K program over the coming year. We are thrilled that Governor Ivey and our state leaders continue to invest in early childhood education by helping Alabama First Class Pre-K maintain the 10 NIEER Quality Criteria for 16 consecutive years.

Dr. Barabara Cooper, Alabama Secretary of Early Childhood Education

Across North Alabama, new classrooms include:

Blount County

  • Blountsville Elementary School
  • Hayden Elementary School
  • Southeast High School

County of Colbert

  • Howell Graves Preschool – 3 new classrooms

Cullman County

  • Good Hope Primary School
  • Parkside Elementary School

DeKalb County

Franklin County

  • New Freedom Christian Fellowship Daycare
  • Kay and Nick’s playhouse

Jackson County

  • Flat Rock Elementary School
  • Macedonia Primary School

Lauderdale County

  • Kids Club Early Care & Education Academy

Lawrence County

  • Hatton Elementary School in Town Creek (not to be confused with Hatton Elementary in Leighton)
  • Hazelwood Elementary School

limestone county

  • Blue Springs Elementary School
  • Sugar Creek Elementary School

Madison County

  • A Better Choice Child Development Center
  • A Perfect Start Learning Center
  • Martin Luther King Elementary School
  • Monrovia Primary School
  • Morris Elementary School
  • Young World Christian Academy

Marshall County

  • Asbury Primary School
  • Boaz Primary School
  • Douglas Elementary School
  • Kingdom Kids at Connect Church

Morgan County

  • Crestline Elementary School
  • West Morgan Elementary School

In Tuesday’s announcement, Ivey said the state-funded program was also ranked the highest in the nation for the 16th consecutive year by the National Institute of Early Education Research (NIEER). The new classrooms are part of a $22.5 million increase in Governor Ivey’s 2023 budget for the Department of Early Childhood Education’s Office of School Readiness; Ivey said additional classrooms will be funded based on further assessment of high-needs areas before the start of the 2022-23 school year.

The Department of Early Childhood Education will also give kindergarten teachers the same raise that public K-12 teachers will receive in the next school year. For a full list of the 96 new classrooms and schools or preschools that will be participating for the first time, click here.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button