Skip to content
Seahawks unveil 2022 softball schedule

WILMINGTON, North Carolina – UNCW Softball Head Coach Kristy Norton announced the Seahawks’ 2022 schedule, which includes 46 regular season games.

The regular season schedule begins the weekend of February 12-13 with four games in the Charleston Southern Tournament and ends Saturday, May 7 with a road contest against Colonial Athletic Association opponent Drexel.

“We’ve had an exciting fall as a program and we know we have a chance to really have an amazing year,” said Seahawks bench boss Norton in 10th year. “Our non-conference schedule will allow our freshmen to show why we brought them here. Our upperclassmen have the experience and leadership skills to make this team one of the best in history. of the program and we have the ability to make a big impression on the rest of CAA. This is a group that I’m really excited for because of the level of talent that we have.

Schedule Notes

  • The regular season schedule features 30 home games at Boseman Field, including an 18-game home game from February 18 to March 18. 13.
  • UNCW will play eight games against North Carolina opponents, including a pair of games against NC Central. The Seahawks have won eight straight in the series, but find the Eagles for the first time since the 2016 campaign.
  • The Seahawks renew their rivalry with East Carolina for the 98th time when the two teams meet in Greenville on March 23. UNCW edged the Pirates, 1-0, last year in Wilmington.
  • The UNCW schedule also includes a pair of Atlantic Coast Conference contests. The Seahawks travel to North Carolina on March 15, before heading to NC State on March 29.
  • UNCW will face opponents from eight different states.
  • The Seahawks will play a three-game series against each of their seven CAA opponents as the league returns to its traditional scheduling format. UNCW will host Delaware, James Madison, Charleston and Elon in addition to making visits to Towson, Hofstra and Drexel.
  • The CAA Championship, hosted by Elon from May 11-13, will feature a field of five teams, with the champion automatically earning a spot in the NCAA Tournament.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.