Skip to content
Russia sanctions eight EU officials in response to EU sanctions

Published on :

Eight European officials, including a French deputy, were sanctioned by Russia. Retaliation displayed against the EU sanctions adopted at the end of March against four senior Russian officials for serious human rights violations.

Russia has banned eight European Union figures, including the President of Parliament David Sassoli, from entering its territory in retaliation for sanctions imposed in March against Moscow.

“The European Union is continuing its policy of unilateral, illegitimate restrictive measures targeting Russian citizens and organizations,” Russian diplomacy said in a statement on Friday (April 30th).

Russia is responding to the sanctions imposed by the EU on March 2 and 22 on four senior Russian officials for serious human rights violations, including arbitrary arrests and detentions, as well as the massive and systematic repression of freedom of peaceful assembly in Russia.

In the eyes of Moscow, by this gesture, the Europeans launched “an open challenge to the independence of Russian internal and foreign policy”.

A French deputy sanctioned

Among the personalities targeted by the Russians are the President of the European Parliament, David Maria Sassoli, but also the Berlin prosecutor, Jorg Raupach.

Asa Scott, a head of a laboratory specializing in highly toxic substances in Sweden is also on the list of people sanctioned by Moscow for having confirmed the conclusions of a German laboratory on the poisoning of Alexey Navalny.

Russia has also placed on this list the French deputy Jacques Maire, special rapporteur on the poisoning of Alexei Navalny at the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE).

With AFP


Source link