Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher dissects the hot spots of the weekend’s action, including a second yellow card for Raul Jimenez after a clash with Illan Meslier on Friday night football.
Wolves 2-3 Leeds
INCIDENT: With Wolves leading 2-0, striker Raul Jimenez received a second yellow card in the 51st minute for a clash with Leeds goalkeeper Illan Meslier. This was undoubtedly the turning point of the game. Tell us about this decision? Fans and managers complain about consistency. What makes it a red card – when Brighton goalkeeper Robert Sanchez got nothing for his challenge against Liverpool’s Luis Diaz last weekend?
DERMOT’S VERDICT: “No second yellow card. Jimenez is unlucky.”
DERMOT SAYS: “I think he’s very unlucky. I think because the assistant had a side view he sees him colliding late and thinks he went in and fouls him and he said to the referee to give a second yellow card and he is sent off. The irony of this is that VAR can’t get involved because it’s a second yellow card. He’s hopelessly unlucky to be sent off, he’s desperately unlucky to receive a ban and he’s even more unlucky not to be able to appeal. If it was a straight red card it would have been knocked down. I think it’s a collision. Two players go for the ball, they both have to go get the ball. I just think he’s really unlucky.
Stephane Warnock: “I agree with Dermot. I think it’s a ball for both sides to aim for and we often talk about being a fraction away. Jimenez’s timing is slightly off but he’s trying to go for it. the ball, he’s not malicious in the way he goes for the tackle. There’s no strength for that.
Sue Smith: “I don’t think it’s a yellow card. If anything, I think Jimenez is trying to pull out at the last moment so they both go in. It’s a 50/50 challenge and definitely should have been a yellow card.”
Jamie Carragher on Friday night football: “If he arrives before the goalkeeper, the goalkeeper is warned. Nobody does anything different, it’s just the goalkeeper who arrives. When the ball was played, everyone thought Jimenez was in it. I winced when I saw the collision.The intensity of it.
“It’s such a speed rally. I was uncomfortable with him getting the yellow card. I just feel when that ball is played, Jimenez feels he’s going to get it. He has to go look for the ball.
“There is naturally going to be a collision. Where can Jimenez go? The goalkeeper comes just before him.”
INCIDENT: Joao Moutinho issued a firm challenge to Stuart Dallas during the game. Was he lucky enough to escape a red card?
DERMOT’S VERDICT: “Red card. Moutinho was lucky.”
DERMOT SAYS: “I think he’s really lucky. I don’t think it’s a good challenge. He gets the ball back, there’s no doubt about it, but he catches Dallas really high and with his cleats. The game went on and it was to be checked and i think what happens then is Leeds score so VAR is checking the goal and if it was lost in the wash i don’t know but he was lucky.
Tottenham 3-1 West Ham
INCIDENT: There was a bizarre incident in Tottenham’s 3-1 against West Ham on Sunday. West Ham defender Kurt Zouma kicked the ball towards Spurs striker Heung-Min Son, who fell to the ground theatrically. Wasn’t this reaction a simulation?
DERMOT’S VERDICT: “That’s not what you want to see.”
DERMOT SAYS: “It’s not what you want to see on a football pitch and in the Premier League. I think you have to do what’s most important and the incident that he triggered becomes central rather than what actually triggered him because it was such a minor thing, just tossing the ball to him like that. So much happened after what started as a petulant kick on the ball.”
Aston Villa 0-1 Arsenal
INCIDENT: In Arsenal’s win over Aston Villa, Tyrone Mings received a yellow card for following up on Bukayo Saka. Was he lucky to be shown a reservation?
DERMOT’S VERDICT: “Yellow card.”
DERMOT SAYS: “I think the referee is absolutely right. I think he gets the ball. He follows, but he’s low, his contact point is very low, he’s on the ground and his back leg hasn’t impact on the player. It doesn’t tick any of the boxes for a red card. I think you can look at any tackle like that and you can give me an image of a player with both feet on the ground, but it is impossible not to tackle without leaving the ground.”
Stephane Warnock: “I didn’t think it was out of Tyrone Mings’ control. I thought the right move was a yellow card.”
Sue Smith: “I didn’t think it was a red card and I didn’t think Allan’s [against Newcastle on Thursday] was a red card. That’s the frustrating thing. I didn’t think so either. I thought they were both yellow.”
Celtic 4-0 Ross County
INCIDENT: Ross County defender Kayne Ramsay, on loan from Southampton, was shown a direct red card for a tough challenge against Celtic midfielder Tom Rogic. Was it the right call?
DERMOT’S VERDICT: “Ramsay is unlucky to see red.”
DERMOT SAYS: “I think the referee felt it was the intensity of the tackle but he got the ball back, he stayed on his feet and I think he has a bit of bad luck. In all fairness, the player who received the foul couldn’t continue, so you could say the intensity was too high.”
Stephane Warnock: “I think it’s just the strength he puts into the tackle. He’s fully engaged. I would be very disappointed if I got a red card for that.”
Sue Smith: “I agree. I think it was probably a yellow, a strong yellow. An ‘orange’ maybe.”
Aberdeen 3-1 Hibernian
INCIDENT: Connor Barron’s shot deflected off Rocky Bushiri’s arm and the referee awarded a penalty. Was it hard handball?
DERMOT’S VERDICT: “Correct call. It’s a penalty.”
DERMOT SAYS: “He’s unlucky it hit him but his arms are out. His arm kicks off and then he’s at his side and he’s blocking the cross and that’s how the rules interpret it this year – arm up , blocking the cross, penalty. It’s bad luck but the referee has to give it.”
Rotherham 0-3 Shrewsbury
INCIDENT: In League One, Rotherham had Angus MacDonald sent off for using an elbow in their loss to Shrewsbury. Did his challenge deserve a red card?
DERMOT’S VERDICT: “He’s unlucky. I don’t think it’s a red.”
DERMOT SAYS: “I think he’s a bit unlucky to be honest. I think he could catch it with his arm, but I don’t think he used his elbow as a weapon. referee, I think he has the worst view because he has the player between him and the player he’s challenging So I think he thinks he elbowed, but I’m not convinced .