Punjab records 4.80% turnout, Uttar Pradesh reports 8.15% vote till 9am

Voting for the 117 Assembly seats in Punjab began on Sunday morning under tight security measures. Voting began at 8 a.m. and will continue until 6 p.m. A total of 1,304 candidates, including 93 women and two transgender, are in the running for this high-stakes electoral contest. There are 2,14,99,804 voters, including 1,02,00,996 women. Punjab is witnessing a multifaceted competition between Congress, AAP, SAD-BSP, BJP-PLC-SAD (Sanyukt) and Sanyukt Samaj Morcha, a political front of various farmers’ organizations. The Shiromani Akali Dal is participating in the elections in alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The BJP is fighting the elections in alliance with the Punjab Lok Congress led by Amarinder Singh and the SAD (Sanyukt) led by Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa. The SSM is contesting the elections with the leader of the Haryana Bharatiya Kisan (Chaduni) Union, Gurnam Singh Chaduni, led by the Sanyukt Sangharsh party. Prominent faces in the fray include Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi, Chief Ministerial Party Face Aam Aadmi Bhagwant Mann, Punjab Congress Speaker Navjot Singh Sidhu, former CMs Amarinder Singh and Parkash Singh Badal, and Chief by Shiromani Akali Dal Sukhbir Singh Badal. Former chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal, Punjab BJP leader Ashwani Sharma and former Union minister Vijay Sampla are also in the fray.

2022 Assembly Elections

Voter turnout until 9 a.m. | Punjab records a voter turnout of 4.80%, while Uttar Pradesh records a voter turnout of 8.15%

Assembly polls 2022: PM Modi urges young people, new UP voters, in Punjab to vote

First post: STI


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button