Phil Foden: Man City midfielder wins Premier League Young Player of the Year award after outstanding campaign | Soccer News

Manchester City midfielder Phil Foden has been named Premier League Young Player of the Season for the second year running.

Foden, who won the award in 2020/21, has already matched his comeback from the previous campaign, registering nine goals and five assists while rising to prominence for the side under Pep Guardiola.

Still just 21, Foden missed the first month of the campaign with a foot injury but returned to underline his huge potential to beat competition from Chelsea’s Mason Mount and West Ham’s Declan Rice. .

Guardiola explained earlier this month that there was no reason his playmaker couldn’t continue to improve in the years to come.

Please use Chrome browser for more accessible video player

Phil Foden gives his thoughts on future team-mate Erling Haaland and why he can’t wait to join the Norwegian striker next season.

“For Phil, responsibility is not an issue. From day one, going to bigger stages, bigger scenarios and important matches, that’s not been an issue (for him). He loves to play.

“He can play in all five positions up front: winger on both sides, attacking in the middle and in the pockets as an attacking midfielder.

“I think over time he will be more able to play in middle positions, he still has all the action, high speed, so maybe now the wide positions suit him better.

Phil Foden celebrates late goal for Man City
Foden celebrates his late goal against Everton

“At the Academy when I started seeing him at 16/17 when I came here he was playing a position like Kevin De Bruyne and wow he was playing really well but all the action is so, so quick.

“You remember David Silva, sometimes he would slow the pace to pick up the pace, (but Phil’s pace) is always high.

“It’s good because he’s so aggressive and we need him but sometimes he needs a bit, but it’s a matter of time. He can do it without a problem, it’s just a matter of time .”

Please use Chrome browser for more accessible video player

Phil Foden considers Manchester City’s Premier League clash with Liverpool and reflects on playing and scoring against them in the past.

Who will win the Premier League Player of the Season?


Mohamed Salah, Heung-Min Son and Kevin De Bruyne are among an eight-man shortlist for the Premier League Player of the Season award.

The main prize winner will be revealed later on Saturday. Trent Alexander-Arnold and Bukayo Saka have been nominated for both awards, with Conor Gallagher, Tyrick Mitchell and Aaron Ramsdale making up the rest of the Premier League Young Player of the Season nominees.

Full-backs Joao Cancelo and Alexander-Arnold also represent the titans of the title, with Jarrod Bowen, Bukayo Saka and James Ward-Prowse completing the list of nominees for the main prize.

Saka bounced back from a penalty with England in the Euro 2020 final against Italy to enjoy his most prolific season for Arsenal in the Premier League, with 11 goals and six assists.

Bowen has firmly knocked on the door for an England call-up with his performances for West Ham this season, becoming one of three players to register at least 10 goals and 10 assists in the Premier League.

Southampton captain Ward-Prowse shrugged off the disappointment of being left out of the Euro 2020 squad and has continued to deliver consistent performances for Saints this season.

PL Manager of the Season Nominees


Pep Guardiola and Jurgen Klopp are on a five-man shortlist for Barclays Manager of the Season.

They are joined by Patrick Vieira, Eddie Howe and Thomas Frank vying for the award, which is decided by online voting and a panel of football experts.

Guardiola and Klopp are battling for the Premier League again this season as City and Liverpool look set to lead the title race until the final day of the season for the second time in just four years.

Coaching statistics, Premier League, 2021/22

Coach To win % GPP pos.
Guadiola 77.78% 2.47 1
Klopp 72.22% 2.39 2
Vieira 28.57% 1.26 11
Franc 33.33% 1.19 13
howe 44.00% 1.52 14

If City succeed, they will become the first team to win three consecutive league titles since Manchester United in 2006/07, 2007/08 and 2008/09.

Frank enjoyed a successful first season in the Premier League with Brentford, beating Arsenal and Chelsea to comfortably avoid relegation.

Vieira has overseen a summer of change at Crystal Palace following the departure of Roy Hodgson last summer, introducing an exciting new core of players to his squad, while ensuring the south London club retain their Premier League status .

Howe has had a transformative effect on Newcastle since replacing Steve Bruce in November, becoming the first team to avoid relegation in the Premier League era after failing to win any of their first 14 matches.

Premier League final schedule

Arsenal v Everton
Brentford v Leeds United – Live on Sky Sports
Brighton v West Ham
Burnley v Newcastle
Chelsea v Watford
Crystal Palace v Manchester United
Leicester v Southampton
Liverpool v Wolves – Live on Sky Sports
Manchester City v Aston Villa – Live on Sky Sports
Norwich v Tottenham

Sky Sports

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button