Over 46% of polls registered in 61 Uttar Pradesh Assembly seats as of 3 p.m.

Over 46% of votes were cast as of 3 p.m. Sunday in the fifth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls for 61 seats in 12 districts.

Polling has been peaceful so far, except for the Kunda Assembly headquarters in Pratapgarh, where PS candidate Gulshan Yadav’s convoy was reportedly attacked by people, police said.

Party workers claimed that Yadav was slightly injured in the attack. SP State Chairman Naresh Uttam and National Spokesperson Rajendra Chowdhury filed a written complaint regarding the Kunda incident with the Election Commission.

According to the Electoral Commission of India’s voter turnout app, the percentage of votes up to 3 p.m. is 46.28. Voting began at 7 a.m. and will continue until 6 p.m. About 2.24 million people are eligible to vote in this phase.

While Amethi recorded 46.35% of the vote, Ayodhya recorded 50.60%, Bahraich 48.66%, Barabanki 45.55%, Chitrakoot 51.67%, Gonda 46.706%, Kaushambi 48.70%, Pratapgarh 44.46%, Prayagraj 44.29%, Raebareli 48.86%, Shrawasti 48.86% percent, he said.

No less than 692 candidates are running in this round, including Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya who is running from Sirathu in Kaushambi district. He is opposed to Apna Dal (Kamerawadi) candidate, Pallavi Patel.

Some of the melee ministers are Siddharth Nath Singh from Allahabad West, Rajendra Singh from Patti (Pratapgarh), Nand Gopal Gupta Nadi from Allahabad South and Ramapati Shastri from Mankapur (Gonda).

Raghuraj Pratap Singh, aka Raja Bhaiya, who has served as MP for Kunda since 1993, is once again in the fray as the Jansatta Dal candidate, with his former aide Gulshan Yadav competing against him on the Samajwadi party ticket.

Krishna Patel, mother of Union Minister Anupriya Patel and leader of Apna Dal (K), poses from Pratapgarh headquarters. The Apna Dal (K) has entered into an alliance with the Samajwadi Party. Union Minister Patel, who heads a rival faction of the party named after her father Sonelal Patel, however ceded the seat to the BJP to challenge her mother Krishna Patel.

Congress Legislative Party leader Aradhana Mishra Mona is fighting from Pratapgarh’s Rampur Khas. By the end of Sunday’s poll, Uttar Pradesh will have voted for 292 of the total 403 seats in the Assembly. The last two phases of the elections will take place on March 3 and 7. The results will be announced on March 10.

(Edited by : Jomy Jos Pullokaran)


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button