Opposition ranks vote bank on national security

In an exclusive interview with News18 on Friday, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath slammed Congress leader Rahul Gandhi for accusing the central government led by Narendra Modi of bringing Pakistan and China together with its policy in Kashmir.

Speaking to Network18 Group Editor Rahul Joshi at Gorakhpur Temple hours after filing his candidacy for the 2022 elections in Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath said opposition parties were notorious for ” place polling bank policy above national security”.

“Rahul Gandhi’s comments on Kashmir in parliament must be condemned. He speaks the language of Pakistan for vote bank policy. They are playing with national security, only vote bank is important to them,” the official said. CM from Uttar Pradesh.

Yogi Adityanath also hit out at the Samajwadi party and the BSP with the Congress, saying that the three parties wanted the return of “rioting and goonda raj” in the UP. He said the SP had become synonymous with “parivarvad” (dynasty politics) and “dangawad” (riots).

“We talk about nationalism, they talk about castes. We talk about development but they only talk about family. Their name is Samajwadi, but their thought is parivarwadi and dangawadi,” he said. “No one will forgive the SP for exodus from Kairana. No one will forgive the SP for shooting Lord Ram’s devotees.”

Yogi Adityanath also accused opposition parties of giving election tickets to people with suspected criminal pasts. “Criminals have been hiding in their hideouts for 4.5 years. They are raising their heads again after some parties promised and gave them tickets. They threatened shopkeepers and farmers. That’s why I said, March 10 ko sabki garmi thandi ho jayegi (They be straightened out on March 10).”

During the interview, Yogi Adityanath also dismissed any electoral impact of more than 10 OBC MPs leaving the BJP last month following the departure of Minister Swami Prasad Maurya to the Samajwadi party.

“Many people from other parties also joined BJP. People who join BJP are not attracted by tickets. Those who leave BJP stand with parivarwad,” he said.

Commenting on speculation about Congress General Secretary and UP leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra contesting her first election, Yogi Adityanath said: “Everyone has the right to contest elections, but it is a question of how many people The fate of Congress will be sealed on March 10.”

The 2022 elections in Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases from February 10 to March 7, with the counting of votes taking place on March 10.

The Uttar Pradesh Assembly has a total of 403 seats with 202 being the majority. These 403 constituencies are spread across seven major regions – West UP (44 constituencies), Ruhelkhand (52), Doab (73), Awadh (78), Bundelkhand (19), East UP (76) and North East UP (61).

The BJP has also set the target of over 300 seats this time around. In the 2017 elections in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP came to power with 312 seats, while the Samajwadi party led by Akhilesh Yadav managed 47. Mayawati’s BSP faced 19 seats and the Congress was relegated to fourth place in the politically important state. with only seven seats. The term of the current UP Assembly ends on May 14, 2022.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button