Netherlands suspends visas at Moscow embassy after diplomats expelled

The Netherlands said it had stopped issuing visas to Russian nationals from Wednesday following a series of tit-for-tat diplomatic expulsions during Russia’s war in Ukraine.

The Dutch Embassy in Moscow Told Russian media are still considering issuing humanitarian visas and temporary residence permits. The Netherlands is a member of the European Union and of the Schengen visa area.

Dutch Ambassador to Russia Gilles Beschoor Plug on Tuesday mentioned the embassy took the “difficult and sad decision” to halt visa services after its entire visa section was expelled.

“I am convinced that traveling, learning and understanding each other’s point of view is so important to solving the crisis,” he tweeted.

Russia last week excluded 14 employees of the Dutch Embassy in Moscow and one employee of the Dutch Consulate in St. Petersburg.

Moscow said it acted in retaliation for The Hague’s expulsion of 17 Russian diplomats considered “secretly active” as intelligence officers in late March.

Russian Foreign Ministry estimates that 28 Western countries have expelled some 400 Russian diplomats since Moscow invaded Ukraine on February 24.

Russia has pledged to respond to diplomatic expulsions with “reciprocity”.

Russia news

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button