Skip to content
NASCAR roster in Martinsville: starting order, pole for Saturday’s race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Martinsville Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula NASCAR uses for the majority of its 2021 races.

The pilot’s starting positions for the Blue-Emu Maximum Pain Relief 500 (7:30 p.m. ET; FS1, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Finish position of the driver from the previous race (25%)
  • Final position of the car owner compared to the previous race (25%)
  • Team owner point ranking (35%)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15%)

Below is the starting lineup for Saturday’s NASCAR race at the 0.526 mile track at Martinsville, which was established without qualifying.

Watch Saturday’s NASCAR Race Live with fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Martinsville?

Joey Logano will lead the peloton for the night short track race at Martinsville based on the mathematical formula. Logano comes off a win in the rain-delayed Food City Dirt Race in Bristol on March 29. Series points leader Denny Hamlin, who lost a late duel with Logano and finished third in that race, was assigned the second starting position.

Hamlin leads second driver Logano by 58 points in the standings despite not winning a race this year. Hamlin leads the series with six top-five finishes in the first seven races of the season. He is tied for the top of the series with three stage wins.

The rest of the top 10 starters: William Byron, Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Newman, Kevin Harvick and Brad Keselowski.

NASCAR start line at Martinsville

The starting line-up for Saturday’s race at Martinsville was determined using a NASCAR mathematical formula adopted at the end of the 2020 season. The formula produced this starting line-up for Saturday’s NASCAR race at Martinsville Speedway, the Blue- Emu Maximum Pain Relief 500:

Start pos. Driver Car number Team
1 Joey logano 22 Penske team
2 Denny hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
3 William byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Ryan blaney 12 Penske team
5 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
7 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
8 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
9 Kevin harvick 4 Stewart-Haas races
ten Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
11 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
12 Kyle busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
13 Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Michael mcdowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
15 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
16 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
17 Ryan preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
18 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
19 Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
20 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
21 Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
22 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
23 Christopher bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
24 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas races
25 Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
26 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas races
27 Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
28 JJ Yeley 53 Rick ware racing
29 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
30 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
31 Aric almirola ten Stewart-Haas races
32 Cody ware 51 Petty ware racing
33 Josh bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
34 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
35 Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsport in the front row
36 BJ McLeod 78 Fast live motor sports
37 James davison 15 Rick ware racing

Source link