Skip to content
NASCAR roster in Bristol: start order, pole for Saturday’s qualifying race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Bristol Motor Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula used by NASCAR for the majority of Cup races in 2021.

The drivers’ starting positions for the Bass Pro Shops night race, the third race of the Cup Playoffs, and the final race of the Round of 16 (7:30 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN5, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25%)
  • Final position of the car owner in the previous race (25%)
  • Team owner’s point ranking (35%)
  • Best lap of the previous race (15%)

NASCAR qualifies for only eight of the 36 Cup Series points races in the 2021 season. Seven of those races have already been raced; the only race remaining with qualifying is the season-ending Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway in November.

Below is the starting lineup, which was set without qualifying, for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race on the 0.533 mile oval at Bristol Motor Speedway.

MORE: Watch Saturday’s NASCAR Race Live with fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Who won pole for the NASCAR race in Bristol?

Martin Truex Jr. was awarded pole position based on NASCAR’s mathematical formula. Truex is stuck in the round of 12 after winning last weekend in Richmond. He was fourth in Game 1 of the playoffs at Darlington. In total, he is third in the points classification.

Next to him will be his Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin, who won at Darlington and finished second in Richmond. He is second in points.

MORE: The NASCAR Playoffs, Explained

Behind Truex and Hamlin will be Joey Logano and Chase Elliott third and fourth respectively. They will lead the 13 drivers who will compete for playoff spots on Saturday night.

Under NASCAR playoff rules, Saturday’s top 16 bunch went to the 16 playoff drivers, but the starting order was based on the mathematical formula NASCAR has used for the majority of its races this season. .

MORE: NASCAR Moves Clash To LA For 2022 Season

NASCAR Cup Playoff Standings

Three drivers are already locked in the round of 12 ahead of the Bristol race. Denny Hamlin was the first when he won the playoff opener at Darlington. Kyle Larson (won on points) and Martin Truex Jr. (race winner) followed in the next race in Richmond.

The last four non-winning drivers after the Bristol race will be eliminated from the playoffs. The remaining 12 drivers will advance to the Round of 12, which begins September 26 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Pos. Driver Points
1 x-Kyle Larson 2151
2 x-Denny Hamlin 2127
3 x-Martin Truex Jr. 2113
4 Joey logano 2093
5 Ryan blaney 2081
6 Kevin harvic 2078
7 Chase Elliott 2072
8 Christophe bell 2070
9 Brad Keselowski 2066
ten Kyle busch 2061
11 Aric almirola 2056
12 Kurt busch 2053
13 Alex Bowman 2053
14 Tyler reddick 2048
15 Guillaume Byron 2035
16 Michael mcdowell 2015

x-Clinched berth in round of 12.

NASCAR starting eleven in Bristol

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to define the starting lineup for Saturday’s playoff playoff race at Bristol Motor Speedway, the Bass Pro Shops Night Race. Thirty-eight cars were entered for the race. Playoff drivers are designated with “P-” next to their names.

Pos. starting Driver Car number Team
1 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
2 P-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
3 Joey logano 22 Penske team
4 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
5 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 P-Christophe Bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
7 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Penske team
8 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Race
9 P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
ten P-Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
11 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Aric Almirola ten Stewart-Haas Race
13 P-Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
15 P-Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
16 P-Michael McDowell 34 Motorsports in the first row
17 Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
18 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
19 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
20 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Race
21 Daniel Suarez 99 Track race
22 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
23 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Girls Race
24 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
25 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
26 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Race
27 Ryan preece 37 JTG Girls Race
28 Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
29 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
30 Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsports in the first row
31 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
32 BJ McLeod 78 Experience fast motorsports
33 Josh bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
34 Quin Houff 00 StarCom races
35 JJ Yeley 51 Small items shopping
36 Garrett smithley 53 Rick ware racing
37 James davison 15 Rick ware racing
38 David starr 66 Business management in motorsport

Source link