Skip to content

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Homestead-Miami Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula used by NASCAR for the majority of its 2021 races.

The driver’s starting positions for the Dixie Vodka 400 (3:30 p.m. ET; Fox, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Finish position of the driver from the previous race (25%)
  • Final position of the car owner compared to the previous race (25%)
  • Team owner point ranking (35%)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15%)

MORE: Watch NASCAR Races Live With fuboTV (7 Day Free Trial)

Below is the start list for Sunday’s NASCAR race at the Homestead-Miami 1.5-mile intermediate track and how it was set without qualifying.

Who won pole for the NASCAR race at Homestead?

Denny Hamlin won pole position for Sunday’s race under the mathematical formula used by NASCAR to set the starting lineups without qualifying. Hamlin leads the Cup Series points standings after two races and is the only driver to finish in the top five this season.

Joey Logano, who finished second behind Christopher Bell in last weekend’s Cup race on the Daytona Road Course, will join Hamlin in first place. Bell is third on the starting grid for the Homestead race. Kevin Harvick and Kurt Busch round out the top five.

Qualifying will take place for a total of eight Cup Series races in 2021, as NASCAR limits the time teams must spend on the track amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The next qualifying session will take place at the end of March for the dirt race at Bristol Motor Speedway.

NASCAR starting lineup at Homestead

The starting lineup for Sunday’s Homestead race was determined using a NASCAR mathematical formula adopted at the end of the 2020 season. The same procedure for establishing non-qualifying rosters is used for the majority of races in 2021.

Formula produced this starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR race at Homestead-Miami Speedway:

Driver Car number Team
Denny hamlin 11 Joe gibbs racing
Joey logano 22 Penske team
Christopher bell 20 Joe gibbs racing
Kevin harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
Michael mcdowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
Brad Keselowski 2 Penske team
Ryan preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe gibbs racing
Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
Ryan blaney 12 Penske team
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
Aric almirola ten Stewart-Haas Racing
Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
Bubba wallace 23 23XI Race
Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
Daniel Suarez 99 Track race
Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
Kyle busch 18 Joe gibbs racing
Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
Cody ware 51 Petty ware racing
Anthony Alfredo 38 Motorsport in the front row
Garrett smithley 53 Rick ware racing
James davison 15 Rick ware racing
Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
William byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
Ross chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
Timmy hill 66 Motorsport business management
BJ McLeod 78 Fast live motor sports
Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
Josh bilicki 52 Rick ware racing
Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood brothers racing
Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing

Source link