Skip to content
NASA to launch EMIT mission aboard SpaceX to study how dust particles affect Earth: How to watch the live stream


NASA is preparing to launch a probe to the International Space Station (ISS) on June 10 that will monitor climate change on Earth. Called Earth Surface Mineral Dust Source Investigation (EMIT), this probe will study the composition of mineral dust from arid regions of the Earth and how desert dust carried through the atmosphere affects the planet. EMIT is scheduled to launch on June 10 aboard SpaceX’s 25th commercial resupply services mission. The Dragon spacecraft will also provide supplies and a variety of scientific equipment for the international crew. The spacecraft will carry more than 4,500 pounds (about 2,041 kg) of cargo.

The spacecraft is expected to reach the ISS on June 12. It will autonomously dock with the forward-facing section of the station’s Harmony module, with NASA astronauts Kjell Lindgren and Bob Hines monitoring operations from the station, NASA said.

The objective of the EMIT mission is to study how mineral rock dust (such as calcite or chlorite), which travels thousands of kilometers after being stirred by high winds in desert areas, can heat or cool the atmosphere and the surface of the Earth.

The space agency will broadcast live coverage of this mission.

Here are the key times:

June 10

Launch coverage will begin at 10 a.m. EDT (7:30 p.m. IST) on NASA TV and the NASA website.

The launch sequence will begin at 10:22 a.m. EDT (7:52 p.m. IST).

June 12

Coverage for the Dragon’s docking will begin at 5am EDT (2:30pm IST)

Docking will be at 6:20 a.m. EDT (3:50 p.m. IST).

The mission will perform several other investigations on the International Space Station (ISS) that include studying immune cell aging and the potential to reverse these effects during post-flight recovery, how sutured wounds heal in microgravity, and a student experiment testing a concrete alternative for potential use in future lunar and martian habitats. The spacecraft is expected to spend about a month tethered to the outpost in orbit before returning to Earth with research and return cargo.


Interested in cryptocurrency? We discuss all things crypto with WazirX CEO Nischal Shetty and WeekendInvesting Founder Alok Jain on Orbital, Gadgets 360 Podcast. Orbital is available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Amazon Music and wherever you get it. your podcasts.

Tech

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.