Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
Technology

NameDrop: Here’s everything you need to know about Apple’s quick way to share contact information

Nature

Over the past few weeks, Apple fans have been able to play with all the cool new features Apple has to offer. iOS 17 brought to compatible iPhones. These new upgrades include some nice additions, including Sleep Mode and the Journal app. Among the iPhone’s new features is NameDrop, a contact sharing feature that lets you share your number with a single tap on your phone.

The release of iOS 17 and NameDrop follows the announcement of the iPhone 15 series, Apple Watch Series 9, and Apple Watch Ultra 2 at Apple’s Wonderlust event in September.

Superfans probably know that NameDrop is coming to Apple Watches later this year (although Watch OS 10.1 Beta now gives users access to the feature), but for now, iPhone users are the only ones with wide access to functionality.

If you have an iPhone running iOS 17, you’re in luck: NameDrop is easy to use. Read on for everything you need to know about this feature.

What is NameDrop?

NameDrop is the new way iPhone users share contact information with each other. You no longer need to trust your phone to strangers if you want to exchange contact details. All you have to do is simply bring your phones together to exchange information.

When can I use NameDrop?

If you’re an iPhone user, you’re in luck. NameDrop is at your disposal right awayor as soon as you update to iOS 17, that is, as long as you have a supported iPhone.

Meet Apple’s iPhone 15 and iPhone 15 Pro: See How the New iPhones Look and Work

See all photos

How does NameDrop work?

In a newsroom post, Apple called NameDrop the “new AirDrop experience.” People with an iPhone can “hold their iPhone close to another to share their contact information only with their intended recipients.”

Apple clarified that you’ll be able to select what information you share with other people, so you won’t have to worry about accidentally sending super personal information to strangers.

Essentially, all you have to do is place your iPhone near the intended recipient of your NameDrop, and you’re done. Once you place the phones together, a contact poster will appear (this is the image that appears when you call someone). After that, you will have the option to simply receive the contact or resend yours.

So… how do you turn off NameDrop?

Not everyone will be a fan of this new feature, and if you fall into that category, Apple has you covered.

All you have to do is open the Settings app, then tap General. After that, navigate to the Airdrop tongue. Once you open the tab, simply toggle the Collect the devices option disabled. And just like that, no more NameDrop.

For more details on iOS 17, check out Everything You Need to Do Before Updating to iOS 17 and Five Hidden Features of iOS 17 We Think You Should Know.

Nature

Tech

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button