Mohamed Salah and Sam Kerr win FWA awards after Liverpool and Chelsea success


Mohamed Salah has been voted the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year, with Chelsea’s Sam Kerr winning the women’s award.

Liverpool striker Salah, who also won the award in 2018, received 48% of the vote, with Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne finishing second and West Ham’s Declan Rice third.

Kerr was an equally convincing winner, taking 40% of the vote ahead of Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema in second place and Manchester City’s Lauren Hemp in third.

Kerr is the second Chelsea player to win the award since its inception in 2018, with Fran Kirby the first winner at the time.

FWA President Carrie Brown said: “Mo and Sam have been exceptional this season, breaking records for club and country.

“In addition to their performances on the pitch, they are leaders and standard bearers of excellence in their respective clubs and leagues.

“The fact that they won by such convincing margins underlines how impressive they have been this season, which has been recognized by our members.”

The FA via Getty Images

This is the first time that the vote for the female footballer of the year is open to all members of the FWA, after having been previously decided by a panel of experts.

FWA Executive Secretary Paul McCarthy added: “It absolutely vindicates the decision to open the vote for Women’s Footballer of the Year and shows our members’ huge interest and expertise in women’s football. “

Salah and Kerr will receive their awards at the Footballer of the Year dinner on May 5.

standard Sport

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button