Meet Draupadi Murmu, 15th President of India

BJP-led NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu was elected India’s 15th president on Thursday. She defeated opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha.

Murmu, 64, is the first Indian president from a tribal community, the first from Odisha and the first to be born after independence. Moreover, she also became the second woman to hold the highest office in the country.

Murmu won by an overwhelming majority against Sinha after receiving more than 64% of the valid votes in a day-long count of the ballots of MPs and MPs, comprising the Electoral College, to succeed Ram Nath Kovid and become the country’s 15th president.

After the end of the counting process which continued for more than 10 hours, returning officer PC Mody declared Murmu the winner and said she had received 6,76,803 votes to Sinha’s 3,80,177 votes.

His victory was sealed after the third round itself when the returning officer announced that Murmu had already received more than 53% of the total valid votes, even though ballots from 10 states and union territories are always counted.

Conceding defeat after the third round of counting, Sinha congratulated Murmu and said all Indians hoped that as the 15th President she would function as the “guardian of the Constitution” without fear or favour.

Murmu was born on June 20, 1958 in Mayurbhanj, Odisha. His father, Biranchi Narayan Tudu, was a farmer in the village of Baldaposi. Murmu graduated from Ramadevi Women’s College in Bhubaneswar.

Read also :

Subsequently, she started working as an Honorary Assistant Professor at Shri Aurobindo Integral Education and Research, Rairangpur. Later, she was appointed junior assistant in the Odisha Irrigation Department.

Her political journey began in 1997 when she joined the BJP. In the same year, she was elected as a councilor for Rairangpur district in Odisha – a seat reserved for tribals. She also served as Vice President of the BJP’s Scheduled Tribes Morcha.

In 2000, Murmu won the Rairangpur Constituency Assembly elections and was put in charge of the Ministry of Transport and Commerce by the then Biju Janata Dal government, which was in power in Odisha with the support of the BJP. . She served as Minister of Transport and Trade until 2002.

In 2002, she was given the fisheries and livestock portfolio. In the same year, she was appointed BJP District Chairperson for Mayurbhanj District. While Murmu continued to serve as Minister of Fisheries and Animal Husbandry until 2004, she remained Mayurbhanj District Chairman for the BJP until 2009. She was named MP of the Year by the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

In 2009 she retained her seat in Rairangpur and in 2010 she was again appointed BJP District Chairperson for Mayurbhanj. In 2013, Murmu was appointed district president for a third term.

In 2017, she was in the running for the presidency when then-president Pranab Mukherjee was due to quit the Rashtrapati Bhavan. However, the NDA eventually followed incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind.

First post: STI


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button