Maldives bans travelers from 7 African nations due to Omicron variant

The Maldives said it was barring travelers from seven African countries from Sunday from worrying about the new Omicron variant of COVID-19.

Travelers will not be allowed into the Maldives from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Lesotho and Eswatini, the health ministry said in a statement.

Travelers who arrived from these countries in the last two days will be subject to 14 days of quarantine.

The World Health Organization (WHO) said on Friday that the new variant of the coronavirus was “of concern” and many countries have imposed travel restrictions on various African countries.

The new variant was first reported to WHO by South Africa last week and has so far been identified in Botswana, Belgium, Hong Kong and Israel.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button