Lionel Messi snubbed by Ballon d’Or for first time in 17 years as Premier League stars dominate shortlist


Six-time winner Lionel Messi has not been nominated for the Ballon d’Or for the first time in 17 years.

France Football, the organizers of football’s most prestigious individual honour, announced the list of 30 finalists on Friday, and Messi missed the mark for the first time since 2005.

His long-time rival Cristiano Ronaldo succeeded, but Messi’s difficult time – by his high standards – at Paris Saint-German seems to have coincided with the previously unthinkable. Neymar, teammate at PSG, also missed out.

Premier League players dominate the shortlist, making up 15 of the 30 nominees.

The full list, in alphabetical order, is below:

  • Trent Alexandre-Arnold
  • Karim Benzema
  • Joao Cancelo
  • Casemiro
  • Thibaut Courtois
  • Kevin De Bruyne
  • Luis Diaz
  • Fabinho
  • Phil Foden
  • Erling Haaland
  • Sebastien Haller
  • Harry Kane
  • Joshua Kimmich
  • Raphael Leao
  • Robert Lewandowski
  • Riyadh Mahrez
  • Mike Maignan
  • Sadio Mane
  • Kylian Mbappe
  • Luka Modric
  • Christophe Nkunku
  • Darwin Nunez
  • Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Antonio Rudiger
  • Mohammad Salah
  • Bernardo Silva
  • Heung Min Son
  • Virgil van Dijk
  • Vinicius Jr
  • Dusan Vlahovic

More follows.

standard Sport

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button