India’s T20 World Cup squad: Pant, Dube and Samson make the cut

Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube and Sanju Samson have all been selected in India’s 15-man squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup which begins on June 1 in the United States and West Indies. The team, announced on Tuesday afternoon, will be led by Rohit Sharma and will have Hardik Pandya as vice-captain.
Yuzvendra Chahal, who was not part of India’s recent T20I squads for the series in South Africa and at home against Afghanistan in January, was picked on the back of his IPL form and is one of four spin options, with the left wrist. Kuldeep Yadav and left-arm spin-bowling all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel.

Pant has not played a T20I since his car accident in December 2022 and returned to the team on the back of his performances in IPL 2024. His 398 runs in 11 innings came at a strike rate of 158, 56. During the season, he also cleared away any doubts that might have existed about his wicketkeeping.

This is Samson’s first cap for a World Cup squad, having missed out on Dinesh Karthik in 2022. Like Pant, Samson has been in prolific form as captain of the Rajasthan Royals, who top the IPL 2024 rankings with eight wins in nine matches. He has scored 385 runs in nine innings at a strike rate of 161.08 so far. The inclusion of Pant and Samson left no room for KL Rahul or Jitesh Sharma. Although Rahul hasn’t played a T20I since the previous World Cup, Jitesh was part of India’s recent T20I squads, but he is in poor form in this IPL.

Eight of the 15 selected players, including captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, participated in India’s T20 World Cup 2022 campaign. After their semi-final defeat against England, the BCCI made sweeping changes in the aim of experimenting with younger players. However, Rohit and Kohli returned to the T20I squad after over a year’s absence ahead of the Afghanistan series at home in January.

This series also marked an international return for Dube, who top-scored with 124 runs in three innings. His ability to reduce spin in the middle order for Chennai Super Kings in the last two IPL seasons and his improvement against fast bowling in 2024 have made him a compelling selection. Dube’s inclusion meant Rinku, India’s designated T20I finisher for the last eight months, could not qualify for the 15s.

Before Rohit’s return to the T20I squad in January, India had been mainly led by Hardik since the 2022 T20 World Cup, while Suryakumar Yadav replaced him after Harrik injured his ankle during the World Cup. world ODI last October-November. Suryakumar led India in the five-match home T20I series against Australia in November and in the three-match series in South Africa in December. The upcoming World Cup will be his first T20I since then, after returning to the IPL following an ankle injury and sports hernia.

Chahal also played his last T20I eight months ago and could finally play his first T20 World Cup match after playing 80 T20Is over the years. Rahul Chahar was preferred over him in 2021, and in 2022, R Ashwin and Axar Patel featured regularly in the Indian XI even as Chahal was away. He has so far picked up 13 wickets in nine matches in the IPL 2024, with an economy of 9.00 despite bowling in death overs.

The team will leave India for the United States in batches, with the first leaving on May 21. This traveling group will include head coach Rahul Dravid and other members of the coaching staff, as well as members of the IPL 2024 teams who are out of the group. playoffs. The last day of IPL 2024 league matches is May 19 and the playoffs begin on May 21 before the tournament concludes on May 26.

India will begin their World Cup campaign against Ireland on June 5 in New York, then face Pakistan, USA and Canada on June 9, 12 and 15.

Indian squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj
Reserve players: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

News Source :
Gn sports

Back to top button