Indian men’s and women’s cricket teams will receive equal pay, says Board of Control for Cricket India (BCCI) secretary | Cricket News

India’s men’s and women’s national cricket teams will receive the same appearance fees to represent their country, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah said on Thursday.

“We are implementing a pay equity policy for our female cricketers under contract with BCCI,” Shaw wrote in a post on Twitter.

“The match fee for men’s and women’s cricket will be the same as we enter a new era of gender equality in Indian cricket.

“BCCI female cricketers will receive the same match fee as their male counterparts. Pay equity was my commitment to our female cricketers and I thank the Apex Council for their support.”

Please use Chrome browser for more accessible video player

Highlights of the Third International One Day Match between England and India at Lord’s

There was no mention of changes in the annual BCCI fees for female players, which remain very different from those of Indian male players. Women currently in the highest retention bracket earn INR 50 lakh (£52,365), followed by INR 30 lakh (£31,421) for Grade B players and INR 10 lakh (£10,474) for Grade B players. Grade C. Male Grade A+ players, meanwhile, pocket INR seven crore (£733,289), followed by INR five crore (£523,778) for Grade A, INR three crore (£314,188) for grade B and one crore INR (£104,745) for grade C.

Shah said female cricketers will receive the same fees as their male counterparts – 1,500,000 Indian rupees (£15,724) for testing, 600,000 (£6,289) for one-day internationals and 300,000 (3 £145) for Twenty20 internationals.

Earlier this year, the BCCI said a full-fledged Indian Premier League (IPL) could start as soon as next year.

Former India women’s team captain Mithali Raj said it was a “historic” decision.

“The Pay Equity Policy along with the WIPL next year, we are ushering in a new era for women’s cricket in India,” Raj wrote on Twitter.

Watch England’s next T20 World Cup match, against Australia, live on Sky Sports Cricket on Friday. Setup begins at 8:30 a.m. before a 9 a.m. start at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Sky Sports

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button