IND versus SA | Internet reacts to Quinton de Kock’s error which cost AS the limit despite the ball crossing the rope

In white-ball cricket, a boundary at the start of an inning is important for a batter to gain confidence quickly. However, Quinton de Kock erred to get it right by offering no shots to a ball from Mohammed Siraj, and because of this, missed four points despite the ball crossing the rope.

After suffering a defeat in the first ODI, India are eager to bounce back in the second ODI, which will be held in Ranchi. South Africa and alternate skipper Keshav Maharaj opted to bat first after winning the toss and Quinton de Kock left after scoring five out of eight balls. De Kock failed to maintain the momentum he had gained in the last game, but even during his short stay he attracted a lot of viewers.

Mohammed Siraj kicked off the proceedings for the hosts and de Kock faced the third over handover. Siraj threw a short delivery staying on the leg and the South African thought it would go wide. Given this judgement, de Kock offered no shots on the ball, only to see it brush against his pads. The ball raced to the boundary behind the wicket and four points had to be added to the team’s scoreboard.

However, de Kock had not offered a shot at that ball and for making the error the on-court referee had to signal a dead ball. If the batter had played a stroke on the pitch, he might have gotten four runs. But the schoolboy’s mistake of not playing the shot resulted in the team getting no points added to their tally.

WAS IT A BORDER?

siraj with pads

Catch them!

bhai bhai

what’s up…referee!

not yet!

5 chahiye races

KKKK

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here




Sports Grp2

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button