ICC World T20 | Twitter reacts to Odean Smith costing West Indies lone shot in victory with humiliating error

Often, one glaring mistake on the big stage can be enough to put an irreversible stain on a player’s career. Odean Smith became the latest to face the shadow after snatching a crucial wicket against Ireland which was then ruled without a ball, robbing his side of a chance to come back.

West Indies suffered another upset in the ongoing World T20 Down Under, falling to a 9 wicket loss to Ireland at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart on Friday. The result sealed their elimination from the tournament, which is a moment of great humiliation for the two-time champions considering their past accolades. However, the Caribbean side have only themselves to blame for the result, having made one huge mistake after another, allowing Ireland to dominate the game from start to finish. The state of their game was perfectly summed up in an incident in the 12th that effectively quit them to win at least morally and arguably in every practical sense as well.

After setting a lower target at 147, the Irish fly-half used the power play to full effect to make it 64/0, a record in the current tournament so far. However, Akeal Hossein offered them a glimpse of hope by getting rid of the dangerous Andy Balbirinie and Odean Smith had the perfect opportunity to put the pressure on in his second spell in the 12th as Ireland still needed 40 good points to win. After getting a thick edge earlier in the over, Smith looked fired up with Lorcan Tucker striking on the fourth ball. The pacer hit a deadly short, catching the batter off guard and forcing him into a desperate pull. The ball looped high and resulted in an easy catch for Smith who tossed the ball fiercely to the ground in frustration even as the team gathered around him in muted celebrations.

However, Tucker was amusingly asked to wait on the ropes instead of heading for the dugout, as the referees suspected that Smith’s front foot had gone past the crease. Lo and behold, the third referee confirmed those doubts, and not only Smith and West Indies were deprived of a wicket, but also penalized an extra run and a free kick for the opposition. Disappointment at the decision was etched on the faces of the entire Caribbean squad, including Odean Smith who simply rolled back his eyes well aware of the glaring mistake he had made. The internet only added to his misery with harsh words for the all-rounder, while some opted to see the lighter side of the incident which ultimately resulted in Ireland’s victory.

Oh Lord

When it all goes south

Selectors I guess

Frustrating

pretty bad

He is not

Poetic

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here




Sports Grp2

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button