ICC unveils first-ever Women’s Future Tours program in landmark announcement

ICC unveils first-ever Women's Future Tours program in landmark announcement

The International Cricket Council has come up with the first ever Future Tours program for women’s cricket for the current World Cup cycle which will run from 2022 to 2025. The historic schedule will see over 300 international matches played and includes a championship reworked feminine. .

The International Cricket Council has taken an important step in making women’s cricket more relevant and global by launching its first-ever Future Tours programme. The detailed schedule for the years 2022-25 includes all matches to be played over the next three years in all three formats on the international stage, including qualification methods for ICC brand events. One of the main highlights of the announcement is the increased number of games for all countries involved as well as the inclusion of bigger roles for lower-ranked nations, as part of the attempt to governing body to broadcast the game worldwide.

In total, the FTP includes provisions for 135 ODIs, 159 T20Is and seven Test matches, making it 301 matches until the 2025 ICC Women’s World Cup in India. The ODIs will primarily constitute ICC Women’s Championship matches, while most of the T20I will be played in bilateral series contributing to the rankings and therefore determining qualification for the World T20s in 2023 and 2024. As for Test cricket, the highlight is a Single Test in the Autonomous Women’s Ashes in early 2025.

“It’s a great moment for women’s football. This FTP not only gives certainty to future cricket tours, but also lays the foundation for a structure that is sure to grow in the years to come,” exclaimed ICC Cricket General Manager, Wasim Khan.


Explore the Parimatch review and find out what the best cricket betting bookmaker in India is capable of!

To find

Perhaps the biggest change revealed is a revamped Women’s Championship. Instead of the previous group of eight nations, the 2022-25 cycle will feature 10 countries thanks to the inclusion of Bangladesh and Ireland. All of these teams will play eight three-game ODI series, four at home and four away. The top five teams, at the end, will secure direct qualification for the 2025 World Cup alongside the host country. The four remaining teams will then face off in a mini-tournament for the final two spots in the major tournament.

To put the historical value of this announcement into context, Bangladesh is guaranteed to play at least 24 bilateral ODIs over the next three years, up from the 11 it managed in the previous round. The Asian outfit will also host the next Asian Cupstarting the first week of October and also due to feature India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Follow us on Facebook here

Stay connected with us on Twitter here

Like and share our Instagram page here

Sports Grp2

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button