Skip to content
Huntsville City Council elects new leadership

HUNTSVILLE, Alabama – Huntsville City Council elected new leaders at its meeting Thursday night.

District 5 City Councilor John Meredith was elected chairman of the board by 4-1, with District 2 Councilor Francis Akridge abstaining.

Current District 3 Council Chair and Councilor Jennie Robinson was elected Pro Tem President with four members in favor and Akridge voting no.

District 3 Councilor Bill Kling was elected 3rd President with four votes in favor and Akridge again abstained.

To learn more about Huntsville City Council, click here. The next council meeting will be on October 28 at 5:30 p.m.