How the Five State CMS Worked

Assembly election results in five states on Thursday created several surprises in terms of the performance of political heavyweights. Unquestionably, the state where the maximum number of top leaders were in shock was Punjab. Some of the big names who faced losses in the Punjab polls included Parkash Singh Badal, his son Sukhbir Singh Badal, former Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh, Navjot Singh Sidhu and others. Apart from Punjab, the Himalayan state of Uttarakhand has also seen several top leaders suffer a setback in the polls. By contrast, poll results in Uttar Pradesh, Goa and Manipur were broadly in line with pre-poll projections.

Looking specifically at the poll results of the outgoing chief ministers of the five states, three of them were able to record victories from their seats while the other two suffered crushing defeats.

In Punjab, incumbent CM Charanjit Singh Channi suffered humiliations in the two seats he contested – Chamkaur Sahib and Bhadaur. In Bhadaur, Labh Singh Ugoke of the Aam Aadmi party defeated the Congress leader by a margin of nearly 37,558 votes. In Chamkaur Sahib, Channi’s namesake and AAP leader Charanjit Singh won by a margin of 7,942 votes.

Pushkar Singh Dhami from Uttarakhand was another CM sitting in the dust. He lost his traditional seat of Khatima to his congressional rival, Bhuwan Chandra Kapri, by a margin of 6,579 votes. According to the Election Commission website, while Kapri got 51.89% of the vote, Dhami’s vote share was 44.8%.

On the other hand, the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, won in his territory, Gorakhpur Urban, with an overwhelming tenure. He beat Subhawati Upendra Dutt Shukla of the Samajwadi Party by a margin of 1,03,390 votes. Yogi’s vote share was a whopping 65%.

Similarly, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh scored a landslide victory from the seat of Heingang assembly. While Singh got 24,814 votes, his congressional rival P Sharatchandra was only able to get 6,543 votes. The latest win in the polls is Singh’s fifth victory over Heingang.

Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant also won his traditional seat in Sanquelim, but by a narrow margin of just 1,000 votes. Sawant has been pitted against Congress Leader Dharmesh Saglani from the seat. Sawant scored 12,250 while Saglani scored 11,584. After the results, Sawant acknowledged his ultra-thin margin of victory is cause for concern and he would do some soul-searching about it.

(Edited by : Thomas Abraham)


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button