Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
NewsUSA News

House passes more aid to Ukraine with help from these Republicans

American taxpayers will provide an additional $300 million for Ukraine’s war effort if a bill passed late Thursday night by the House becomes law.

The bill passed 311-117 after Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) stripped funding for a Pentagon spending bill in favor of a standalone vote.

House Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) speaks to reporters at the Capitol in Washington on September 26, 2023. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

The Pentagon’s $826 billion spending bill also passed Thursday evening after aid to Ukraine was cut.

Determining how much more, if anything, Congress should send to Ukraine — on top of the $113 billion it has already approved — has been one of the most significant challenges for Congress as it s is trying to fund the government beyond the September 30 deadline.

The funds in Thursday’s legislation are intended to purchase weapons and provide training for Ukrainian soldiers.


U.S. President Joe Biden shakes hands with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky while welcoming him to the Oval Office of the White House September 21, 2023 in Washington, DC. (Drew Angerer/Getty Images)

A House Republican Conference rule adopted at the start of the 117th Congress prohibits a bill from being introduced without the support of at least half the conference. This rule was sought by conservatives to prevent a Republican president from seeking help from Democrats to pass legislation unpopular with Republicans — a scenario that helped put pressure on Speakers John Boehner (R-OH) and Paul Ryan (R-WI) to leave Congress.

The White House has requested $24 billion in aid to Ukraine as part of any resolution to maintain government funding, while acknowledging that much more will be requested in the future.

House and Senate negotiators continue to debate the issue as the government moves toward a shutdown.

aptopix us ukraine ukrainian president volodymyr zelenskyy is welcomed capitol washington by

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky is welcomed to the Capitol in Washington on September 21, 2023. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

Republicans voting with all Democrats for the Ukraine funding bill are Reps. Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Mark Alford (R-MO), Mark Amodei (R-NV), Kelly Armstrong (R -ND), Don Bacon (R-NE), Jim Baird (R-IN), Troy Balderson (R-OH), Andy Barr (R-KY), Cliff Bentz (R-OR), Jack Bergman (R-MI ), Stephanie Bice (R- OK), Ken Buck (R-CO), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Ken Calvert (R-CA), Lori Chavez-DeRemer (R-OR), Juan Ciscomani (R-AZ ), Tom Cole (R- OK), Dan Crenshaw (R-TX), Anthony D’Esposito (R-NY), Scott DesJarlais (R-TN), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), John Duarte (R -CA), Neal Dunn (R-FL), Jake Ellzey (R-TX), Tom Emmer (R-MN), Drew Ferguson (R-GA), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN ), Mike Flood (R-NE), Virginia Foxx (R-NC), Mike Gallager (R-WI), Andrew Garbarino (R-NY), Carlos Giménez (R-FL), Kay Granger (R-TX), Sam Graves (R-MO), Glenn Grothman (R-WI), Brett Guthrie (R-KY), Andy Harris (R-MD), French Hill (R-AR), Richard Hudson (R-NC), Bill Huizenga (R-MI), Darrell Issa (R-CA), John James (R-MI), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Dusty Johnson (R-SD), Dave Joyce (R-OH), Tom Kean (R -NJ), Jen Kiggans (R-VA), Kevin Kiley (R-CA), Young Kim (R-CA), Dave Kustoff (R-TN), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Doug Lamborn (R-CO ), Bob Latta (R-OH), Mike Lawler (R-NY), Laurel Lee (R-FL), Debbie Lesko (R-AZ), Frank Lucas (R-OK), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY), McCarthy, Mike McCaul (R-TX), Tom McClintock (R-CA), Rich McCormick (R-GA), Patrick McHenry (R-NC), Max Miller (R-OH), Marc Molinaro (R-NY), Blake Moore (R-UT), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), Jay Obernolte (R-CA), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Cathy McMorris-Rodgers (R-WA), Mike Rogers (R-AL), Hal Rogers (R-KY), John Rose (R-TN), David Rouzer (R-NC), John Rutherford (R-FL), Maria Elvira Salazar (R-FL), David Schweikert (R-AZ), Austin Scott (R-GA), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Mike Simpson (R-ID), Adrian Smith (R-NE), Chris Smith (R-NJ), Lloyd Smucker ( R-PA), Victoria Spartaz (R-IN), Michelle Steel (R-CA), Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Bryan Steil (R-WI), Dale Strong (R-AL), GT Thompson (R- PA), Mike Turner (R-OH), David Valadao (R-CA), Ann Wagner (R-MO), Michael Waltz (R-FL), Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Joe Wilson (R-SC) , Steve Womack (R-AR), and Rudy Yakym (R-IN).

Follow Bradley Jaye on Twitter to @BradleyAJaye.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button