Has a transferred player ever won the Heisman Trophy?

The Heisman Trophy ceremony takes place on Saturday, December 10. For those wondering if a transfer has already won the prestigious award, we have the answer for you.

The Heisman Trophy ceremony takes place this Saturday, December 10, live from New York. As this year’s competition was wide open, four finalists were selected, all of whom are quarterbacks. USC’s Caleb Williams, Ohio State’s CJ Stroud, TCU’s Max Duggan and Georgia’s Stetson Bennett.

Looking at the four finalists, Williams appears to be the favorite to win the award. Let’s not forget that Williams was transferred from Oklahoma to USC, right after head coach Lincoln Riley made the switch.

Has there ever been a move to win the Heisman Trophy? We have that answer for you.

Has a transfer ever won the Heisman Trophy?

Yes, several players have won the Heisman Trophy after transferring from another program. Specifically, seven winners have won this award after leaving another school.

Transfers that have won the Heisman Trophy

Here are the seven transfers to win the Heisman:

  • [1945:Felix”Doc”Blanchard(NorthCarolinaArmy)[1945:Felix«Doc»Blanchard(ArméedeCarolineduNord)
  • 1968: OJ Simpson (USC, from City College of San Francisco)
  • 1983: Mike Rozier (Nebraska, from Coffeyville Junior College)
  • 2010: Cam Newton (Auburn, Blinn Junior College and Florida)
  • 2017: Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, from Texas Tech)
  • 2018: Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, from Texas A&M)
  • 2019: Joe Burrow (LSU, from Ohio State)

The very first transfer to win the Heisman was Felix “Doc” Blanchard, who transferred from North Carolina to the military. The fullback rushed for 722 yards and 16 touchdowns on 101 carries while catching four passes for 166 yards and a touchdown in the 1945 season.

Joe Burrow is the latest transfer to win the Heisman. In fact, he is the first graduate transfer to win the award. After moving from Ohio State to LSU, Burrow had a historic 2019 season, where he threw for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns. That was before he came through Oklahoma and Clemson in the college football playoffs to help lead LSU to the national championship.

Additionally, Baker Mayfield and Kyler Murray won the Heisman back-to-back for Oklahoma after both transferred from different schools. Mayfield transferred from Texas Tech, while Murray left Texas A&M.

For more college football news, analysis, opinion and unique coverage from FanSided, including Heisman Trophy and college football playoff standings, be sure to bookmark these pages.


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button