Leeds defender Pascal Struijk had no intention with his ankle-breaking challenge against Harvey Elliott but still deserved the red card, former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher told the latest Ref Watch.
Leeds 0-3 Liverpool
INCIDENT: Fifteen minutes into the second half, Pascal Struijk challenges Harvey Elliott from behind and falls on the Liverpool midfielder resulting in a horrific ankle injury.
DERMOT’S VERDICT: Good decision: red card.
DERMOT SAYS: “What I would say right off is that I don’t think Struijk had any intention of hurting this boy. I’m saying that very clearly. It was a very unfortunate injury, but I think the referee sees this challenge: Struijk enters from behind, then the result.
“You have to be very careful to keep the two separate, but, in this case, you look at it and the result and it’s very hard to say it’s not a red card for this injury.
“You could see how bad the injury was because there weren’t any reruns, I had to watch a stream from somewhere else to see the tackle again. You see what’s going on, the way the player reacted – you knew how bad it was.
“The red card was a decision on the pitch, although the free kick was not given at the start. The fourth referee was nearby and he would have taken over, and that’s a good thing about the earphone at the moment Referees are connected Everyone’s contribution was: “We think it’s a red card”, and a red card was given.
“When you see this challenge from behind. The law says, does it endanger the safety of the opponent. Well, the result would definitely say yes. Did he want to do it? Definitely not. And that’s the balance. here and the referee’s dilemma had. I think the referee has a very difficult job of not giving a red card when you see the extent of the injury. “
SECOND INCIDENT: Fabinho scores with Sadio Mane standing near the goal line in an offside position.
DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct decision: goal awarded.
DERMOT SAYS: “If you look at where the goalkeeper is, the ball is actually going through Luke Ayling’s legs. Line of Sight – Did the player obstruct the goalkeeper line of sight? No. The players are separated. . I think he is in [the goalkeeper’s] peripheral vision, not in his direct vision and that is why the goal was given. “
Dermot on David Busst’s injury in 1996
Gallagher was officiating when Coventry defender David Busst broke his leg against Manchester United in the Premier League in 1996 and the event still haunts the former referee to this day.
“Craig Pawson still had half an hour to play [after the Eliott incident] and I think the helmet thing now, the officials can keep feeding the referee’s ear, “That’s it, you have five more minutes,” and it’s almost like you’re breaking the game. incident was 81 seconds into the game, so there was quite a game to go.
“The only thing I would say about this moment: everything I’ve done in my life, every experience I’ve ever had, if I could change one thing, just one thing, it would be that I didn’t didn’t start that match, that day – that’s how horrible it was. But it happened and you have to face it and you have to move on, which I had to learn to do . “
Crystal Palace 3-0 Tottenham
INCIDENT: Japhet Tangana got into a fight with Wilfried Zaha and both players received a yellow card before Tangana issued a thoughtless challenge a few minutes later and received a second yellow.
DERMOT’S VERDICT: Good decision: two yellow cards.
DERMOT SAYS: “It’s very interesting. This incident and the one at West Ham. Two players competing both receive yellow cards, which I think is fair.
“If you look at him he’s angry, they’re pushing and shoving but there’s no punches. That’s the thing: is it violent? With the second tackle, you just shouldn’t do it. a tackle like that – it’s a few minutes after. You leave Jon Moss no choice if you make a tackle like that.
SECOND INCIDENT: Crystal Palace receives a penalty after Tottenham full-back Ben Davies blocked a Conor Gallagher cross with a pulled arm.
DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct ruling: penalty.
DERMOT SAYS: “It has to be handball. We talked about pre-season to reduce the gray areas and what would be given and what would not.
“It’s the fact that their arm is so far away, and you see, it’s very, very hard to say ‘no penalty’ – especially after they’ve brought in some margins so there is less. debate. If the arms are out, it’s going to be punished – and it was. “
Southampton 0-0 West Ham
INCIDENT: Michail Antonio receives a second yellow card after a first scrum with Jack Stephens and is followed by a reckless challenge soon after on Moussa Djenepo.
DERMOT’S VERDICT: Good decision: two yellow cards.
DERMOT SAYS: “I think it falls exactly within the range requested: consistency. There is a tangle between the two players. They both end up bickering and with yellow cards, which I think is fair.
“It’s so similar [to the Zaha and Tanganga incident]. Antonio then does almost exactly what Tanganga does too – he drags a leg, throws himself in and gets a second yellow card. It’s total consistency. “
Arsenal 1-0 Norwich
INCIDENT: Arsenal’s goal is cleared after the ball hits Bakayo Saka’s arm in preparation and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang appears to be offside when he kicks the ball into the empty net.
DERMOT’S VERDICT: Correct decision: no handball, no offside and goal allowed.
DERMOT SAYS: “It hits Saka’s hand, but I think that’s all he does. He flies off the Norwich player and hits his arm. I wasn’t too concerned about that because it doesn’t fall off. in the new law. It hits him and they keep going – it doesn’t go straight to a player who scores, and he doesn’t score – play continues.
“[Regarding whether Aubameyang was offside], it was a really interesting incident because I thought Aubameyang was offside. Aubameyang starts off in an offside position, but when the ball hits the post and comes back, he hits Pepe and goes towards him – and at that point he’s come back behind the ball so he’s in play. “
Leicester 0-1 Man City
INCIDENT: Jamie Vardy crosses Manchester City’s high line with the usual style and score – but the assistant signals an offside.
DERMOT’S VERDICT: Good decision: goal denied.
DERMOT SAYS: “It was tight but it was also given as a decision on the pitch which I thought was really good. The assistant waits, the ball goes into the net, then the assistant signals. VAR the check because the game stopped and he was just offside. A very, very good decision. “