Guntersville High’s Gabe Marsh and Rogers High’s Erin Brown win 2022 Bryant-Jordan Awards

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WHNT) — Two athletes from northern Alabama took top honors at Monday night’s Bryant-Jordan Student-Athlete Awards Banquet.

Gabe Marsh, a swimmer at Guntersville High School, won the 2022 Ken and Betty Joy Blankenship athlete of the year award, while the high school volleyball and basketball star Rogers Erin Brown won the Larry D. Striplin Jr. Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.

“I feel like sports taught me how to deal with adversity,” Brown said. “Like in a match, there will be ups and downs, and you will feel like nothing is going right for you.

“You just have to keep doing what’s right, and most of the time it works for you,” Brown continued. “You just have to ride out the storm.”

Marsh, who was born legless and with only one arm, learned to swim at age 4 and soon began competing.

“A lot of people may think I have a disability and feel sorry for me,” Marsh said. “They shouldn’t. I don’t see myself that way.”

“When life happens and challenges are present, I see my blessings, my family and my friends,” Marsh concluded. “God has put us on a path for which he has prepared us. This honor is a milestone in my life that I will always remember.

104 students were recognized at the banquet with over $380,000 awarded in scholarships. Each of the recipients was awarded a $3,000 scholarship. The 14th class winner received an additional $3,500 and each state winner received an additional $4,000.

The program is named in honor of the late coaches Paul “Bear” Bryant of Alabama and Ralph “Shug” Jordan of Auburn. Since its launch, the program has awarded approximately $10.8 million in scholarships starting in 2021.

The list of other class and special scholarship recipients honored on Monday evening was as follows:

2022 Bryant-Jordan winners
Ken and Betty Joy Blankenship Student Success Winner
GENERAL: Gabe Marsh, Guntersville HS
1A – Katelyn Frazier, Phillips HS
2A – Makayla Lindsey, Winston County HS
3A – Styles Hughes, Sylvania HS
4A – Kasia Nicholson, Wilcox-Central HS
5A – Gabe Marsh, Guntersville HS
6A – Gabe Gamble, Pelham HS
7A – Ty Roper, Foley HS

Larry Striplin Jr. Scholar-Athlete Winners
Erin Brown, Rogers HS
1A – Megan Roe, HS Freshwater
2A – Reave Metcalf, Westminster-Oak Mountain
3A – Hayden Floyd, JB Pennington
4A – Erin Brown, Rogers HS
5A – William Jameson, Episcopal of St. Paul
6A – Preston Reed, Jasper HS
7A – Davis Amare, Fairhope HS

Bryant-Jordan Special Scholarships 2022
Herman L. “Bubba” Scott Coaching Scholarship
Elijah Kirby, Fort Payne High School

Dr. Gaylon McCollough Medical Fellowship
McKayla Lindsey, Winston County High School
Katelyn Frazier, Phillips High School
Hughes Styles, Sylvania High School
JaKarrie McPherson, McKenzie High School

W. Edgar Welden Service Scholarship
Savannah Downey, Jackson High School
Hudson Hill, New Hope High School

Alabama “A” Club Educational and Charitable Foundation Scholarship
University section:
Riley Jordan, Carroll High School
Achievement Division: Madison Martin, Oakman High School

Auburn Football Lettermen Club Scholarship
University section:
Wesley Hawkins, Douglas High School
Achievement Division: Thomas Stovall, Alabama Christian Academy


Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button