Skip to content
Government appoints Judge Ashok Bhushan as president of Nclat, Judge R Sudhakar as president of Nclt

The government appointed Justice Ashok Bhushan, a former Supreme Court justice, to chair the National Company Law Appeals Tribunal (NCLAT).

In addition, he appointed Judge Ramalingam Sudhakar, former Chief Justice of the High Court of Manipur, President of the National Company Law Tribunal (NCLT).

Both NCLT and NCLAT obtain permanent leaders after more than a year and a half after the retirement of their respective incumbents.

Read also:

“The Cabinet Appointments Committee approved the proposed appointment of Justice Ashok Bhushan, former Justice of the Supreme Court of India as Chairman of NCLAT for a period of 4 years from the date of taking office. post, or until he turns 70, or until further notice, whichever comes first, ”according to an official notification dated October 28.

The NCLAT appeals tribunal will have a permanent chair after a hiatus of almost 19 months. Its first president, Judge SJ Mukhopadhaya, retired on March 14, 2020 and has been operating with interim presidents ever since.

In the past 19 months, NCLAT had three interim presidents, two of whom were granted multiple extensions. The NCLT, which deals with important insolvency-related issues, operated without a permanent chair after Judge MM Kumar retired on January 5, 2020.

Following the retirement of Judge Kumar, BSV Prakash Kumar was appointed interim president and was also granted an extension. This was followed by six interim presidents. The NCLT and NCLAT are also lacking in membership and the situation has sparked the ire of the Supreme Court.

Earlier this month, the government appointed 21 members – 11 judicial members and 10 technical members – to various NCLT benches. Currently, the NCLT and NCLAT, like other judicial and quasi-judicial bodies, conduct virtual hearings of cases.

NCLAT was incorporated under section 410 of the Companies Act 2013 to hear appeals against orders of the National Company Law Tribunal (NCLT).

It has two benches – a main bench in New Delhi and the other in Chennai.

NCLT, besides a main bank in New Delhi, has fourteen other banks – Ahmedabad, Allahabad, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Chennai, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai, Cuttack, Jaipur, Kochi, Amravati and Indore.

(Edited by : Jomy Jos Pullokaran)



Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.