Skip to content

Stade Brestois inherited from Paris SG, defending champion, in the round of 16 of the Coupe de France, the first round between amateurs and professionals, which will also offer a derby between Nice and Monaco, according to the draw made on Sunday.

The other two Breton clubs still in the running, FC Lorient and Le Petit Poucet US Montagnarde (R1) will go, respectively, to Le Puy (N2) and Saumur (N3).

Pelissier has “trouble projecting”

Christophe Pelissier, poured out his thoughts on the draw: “The Cup is always difficult even if Le Puy is hierarchically inferior. But, I’m having a little trouble projecting myself into the cup at the moment. We play the matches one after the other, the objective is to stay in Ligue 1. “

Due to the health crisis, the format of the Coupe de France has been completely upset: amateurs and professionals have lined up the laps in two parallel lanes, and only find themselves during these round of 16, scheduled for the 6th and 7th. March.

Two posters will oppose elite clubs: Brest-PSG and Nice-Monaco, the Riviera derby won in Ligue 1 by the Monegasques at the beginning of the month (2-1).

Four regional groups

Among the other big teams, Marseille will move to Canet-en-Roussillon, a 4th division club (N2), while Lyon will host Sochaux (L2). Besides Sochaux, two other Ligue 2 clubs are still in the running: Valenciennes, which will host Metz, and Toulouse, which will face Aubagne, a National 2 club.

During the draw, the qualified clubs were divided into four groups geographically, while taking into account sporting criteria. A match of the 32nd finals must still be played on Thursday between SO Romorantin and FC M’tsapéré, the first club from Mayotte to reach this round. The overseas club had been placed in isolation after several cases of Covid-19 a few days ago, causing the meeting to be postponed.

All the news Coupe de France

The program of the round of 16 (March 6-7)

Valenciennes (L2) – Metz; Gazélec Ajaccio (N2) – Lille; Beauvais (N2) – Boulogne-sur-Mer (N1); Red Star (N1) – Lens; Nice – Monaco; Rumilly-Vallières (N2) – Annecy (N1); Saint-Louis Neuweg (N3) – Sedan (N2); Lyon – Sochaux (L2); Aubagne (N2) – Toulouse (L2); Angers – Club Franciscain (Martinique); Alès-en-Cévennes (N3) – Montpellier; Canet (N2) – Marseille; Romorantin (N2) or M’tsapéré (Mayotte) – Voltigeurs Châteaubriant (N2); Saumur (N3) – US MONTAGNARDE (R1); Le Puy (N2) – FC LORIENT; STADE BRESTOIS – Paris SG.

Support a professional editorial staff at the service of Brittany and the Bretons: subscribe from € 1 per month.

I subscribe

Source link