Every game for every team plus who misses the magic trick

The NRL suffered the full brunt of the FIFA Women’s World Cup in their draw, with 13 games moved and two more still to find a venue due to stadium clashes.

The league unveiled the biggest schedule of the NRL era on Thursday, with 204 regular season games starting with Parramatta hosting Melbourne on March 2.

Penrith will face the Eels in a grand final rematch at the CommBank Stadium in the fourth round on March 23, while the NRL are still working out the finer details of a two-week pre-season tournament.

The season will be played over 27 rounds, with each team receiving three byes, with more games moved to Sunday nights from the Friday 6 p.m. timeslot after State of Origin games.

But the most notable factor is the devastation caused by the FIFA World Cup.

With several major stadiums out of action for up to two months, Melbourne’s games against Penrith and Parramatta in rounds 18 and 22 respectively are currently being scored as TBAs.

The most likely outcome is that fixtures will be moved to Marvel Stadium, but that will depend on clashes with the AFL who own the ground.



Brisbane will play three games at the Gabba, the Sydney Roosters will play twice at the SCG and a double-header will take place in Perth with the Dolphins playing Newcastle and South Sydney hosting Cronulla.

The majority of clubs were able to move matches to their traditional secondary venues, with Canterbury to play Belmore and Bundaberg.

South Sydney will play games on the Sunshine Coast and Cairns, while the Wests Tigers will play one game at Tamworth as part of their long-term contract.

The Allianz, Accor, AAMI and Suncorp stadiums are all unavailable due to FIFA World Cup matches, while Campbelltown, Leichhardt and Kogarah are being used as training bases.

One place where teams won’t take games en masse is New Zealand.

After all the talk about getting Warriors and New Zealand NRL fans reimbursed after two and a half years without a home game, only the Tigers will play a game against Waikato.

The Warriors have also been largely overlooked when it comes to free-to-air games, receiving the least with just two.

Melbourne, Brisbane, South Sydney and the Sydney Roosters each have 13 games on Channel Nine, while Gold Coast is second worst with four ahead of Canterbury and Newcastle on seven.

The Knights will also miss playing the Magic Round, becoming the unlucky team to make the pass in Round 10.

Meanwhile, Brisbane and Manly received the toughest draws, with the Broncos playing 14 games against last year’s top eight teams and the Sea Eagles 13.

Canberra’s draw is the friendliest, with just eight games against last year’s runners-up, while Cronulla’s is second best with 10.


Sports Grp2

Not all news on the site expresses the point of view of the site, but we transmit this news automatically and translate it through programmatic technology on the site and not from a human editor.
Back to top button